Radio turns off when headlights turn on. Help. - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4L Problems Forum Having Trouble? Post here

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 Old 01-09-2014, 02:17 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Jerzyperson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 598
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Radio turns off when headlights turn on. Help.

So just got my truck back from the dealer, had My coolant system completely Redone batteries are connected and everything. Never done it before, but radio works with lights off. And shuts off completely when lights are turned on. No electrical had been done. Never did this before. What do I do?

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
Jerzyperson is offline  
post #2 of 17 Old 01-09-2014, 02:23 PM
Premium Member
 
theplumbingmedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Northern, VA
Posts: 1,103
Thanks: 3
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
I`m gonna go out on a limb and say...Bring it back to the dealer?

2010 F350 lariat cc sb srw
H&S Black Maxx,S&B CAI,,Readylift leveling kit,,GY 325/60/20,Smoked Recon: tail lights,cab lights,3rd brake light and tow mirror lights,AVS smoked window vents,20% window tints,Curt front mount hitch,Rear hitch mounted lights,Sinister coolant filter,PMF dual steering stabilizer,PMF traction bars 51 Gal. Titan tank,Bilstein 5100`s,Rudy`s up pipes,ARP studs,RCD egr delete w/ elbow,AFE cold side pipe,AFE 4"dp, AFE 5"
exhaust
theplumbingmedic is offline  
post #3 of 17 Old 01-09-2014, 02:28 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Jerzyperson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 598
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I can't be out my truck another day. I gotta get back to Wyoming.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
Jerzyperson is offline  
post #4 of 17 Old 01-11-2014, 10:52 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
jnp1267's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 174
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
ever get this issue resolved? I would say just get a new radio unless you found out the problem
jnp1267 is offline  
post #5 of 17 Old 01-11-2014, 11:39 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Jerzyperson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 598
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Took it back to dealer. They didn't find it. I'm thinking the same thing, im thinking touch screen

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
Jerzyperson is offline  
post #6 of 17 Old 01-11-2014, 11:42 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
jnp1267's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 174
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
cant go wrong there, thats what i have in mine......love having it in there! you can get a good deal too if you find one online or craigslist.
jnp1267 is offline  
post #7 of 17 Old 01-11-2014, 12:08 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Jerzyperson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 598
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
What kind do you have?

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
Jerzyperson is offline  
post #8 of 17 Old 01-11-2014, 12:21 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
jnp1267's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 174
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
i would upload a pic but i have no clue how to do that!
jnp1267 is offline  
post #9 of 17 Old 01-11-2014, 12:31 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Jerzyperson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 598
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It's not factory is it? I have no clue what's good in terms of double din touch screens. I'm sure quality ain't cheap, but 400-500 seems a bit steep

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
Jerzyperson is offline  
post #10 of 17 Old 01-11-2014, 12:33 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
jnp1267's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 174
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
no its not a factory screen, its an aftermarket pioneer double din, with nav, and back up camera. ill be honest i got it off craigslist for 150$ im a junkie on there looking for killer deals.
jnp1267 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome