Clicking/Ticking Noise - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4L Problems Forum Having Trouble? Post here

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-01-2013, 05:01 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Clicking/Ticking Noise

I have a 08 6.4 F250 and i'm starting here a clicking/ticking type of noise coming from what i believe is the fuel cooling pump. Has anyone had this type of problem or know what is going on? This my first diesel truck need some help or ideas on what I should be afraid of getting ready to take a 1,500 mile trip in two weeks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-03-2013, 10:57 AM

I'm also new to my diesel truck and I've heard a dripping sound the other weekend coming from under the front passager side floor. Is that where you heard it?
Old 10-03-2013, 03:19 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

My noise was coming from drivers side by the hood and firewall. A friend located the noise it and found out it was a vacuum pump, either the pump is bad or I've got a leak somewhere. he disconnected the power to. Now noise is gone!
Old 10-03-2013, 05:19 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

If your vacuum pump is running constantly, it's probably a leaky or disconnected vacuum line. If you turn your key to the on position but don't start the truck, you'll hear the pump run. It should stop after 30 seconds to a minute or so. I don't really know how long exactly, but it will stop. If it doesn't, you've got a leak somewhere. The vacuum system in these trucks is fairly limited, meaning it doesn't run very many things, so it shouldn't be too tough to track the leak down.