Fuel filter cap stuck = filter housing replacement - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4L Problems Forum Having Trouble? Post here

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-20-2013, 09:33 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Fuel filter cap stuck = filter housing replacement

Long story short, I have aftermarket aluminum oil and fuel filter caps, made by an as-yet unnamed company. I've had them since March, so this is my first time trying to take them off since I put them on. The oil filter cap and the lower fuel filter cap, which are both the same size, work fine. The upper fuel filter cap though, that's another story.

When I first installed it months ago it went on a little rough. But it went on, so I didn't think too much of it. It's getting to be time to change my filters, so I tried to take it off today, with terrible results. The oil filter cap came off fine, but not that f'n fuel filter cap. After breaking several wrenches and adapters, including a 3/8" breaker bar (without using a cheater pipe), I gradually moved up from large crescent wrenches, to pipe wrenches, and finally to a 48" pipe wrench on the outside of the cap. I could kinda get that to work with a cheater pipe, to effectively make a 7' wrench, but I could still barely move it when I put all I had into it. And I'm not exactly a small guy. It's WAY too much torque to be putting on something like that, I'm not sure why I took it as far as I did. I included a couple photos for reference, it's not pretty. I could have gotten a longer section of pipe and kept trying, but I probably would have broken something else so I didn't see the need. Just getting that cap to where it is was incredibly difficult. It wasn't getting any easier, and it's not even close to being off.