Smoking/burning smell normal? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4L Problems Forum Having Trouble? Post here

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-03-2008, 07:10 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Smoking/burning smell normal?

Hello fellow 'strokers!

I have a new 08 with 1100 miles on it, 300 were from the dealer. In those 800 miles, on 3 separate occasions the truck has randomly started to smell as if it were on fire...really bad. People give me the look on the street like..."uh, do you know your truck is about to catch fire?". I have also noticed white smoke coming from what seems to be the underbody, and, although I am no expert by any means, might be coming from a portion of the exhaust (not the tip, the underbody area), such as the cat or so it seems. The truck is completely stock, save for a bit bigger tire.

Anyhoo, I called up a service advisor from the dealer I bought her from, and he says " oh, thats just regeneration". 3 times in 800 miles? hmm. Horrible burning and smoke? hmmmm. But, yep, he says regen.

What say the real folks here? I don't want to burn up my baby, and would rather "know what I am talking about" to some extent when I take it in and hear the regen story...or, perhaps he is completely correct and it is regen. However, this is just crazy...and a bit embarrassing.

Oh, yeah, and I get 7.9 MPG around town, 8.4 on the hwy, which I would be screaming about except it seems quite a few folks on here have bad mpg, but that seems like REALLY bad mpg.

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-04-2008, 03:41 PM

Probably just regen............the more city driving the more it will regen.
Old 05-04-2008, 05:12 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Look under there and see what's burning. That don't sound right.
Old 05-05-2008, 02:16 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie