P1639 Fault Code - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4L Problems Forum Having Trouble? Post here

 1Likes
  • 1 Post By powercho
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 Old 06-30-2013, 02:06 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
powercho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 86
Thanks: 5
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
P1639 Fault Code

Got this fault code yesterday before I started it. Check eng, battery, and ABS dash lights were illuminated, as well as the Traction Control. The code means the vehicle ID block is corrupt. I tried to clear it with the key in run and then with the engine running. Both didn't work... Truck runs fine and everything is in parameter.

Anybody run into this before? Hopefully H&S has a solution.

Thanks.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
powercho is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 07-01-2013, 12:09 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
powercho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 86
Thanks: 5
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Fixed it. Called H&S and they walk you through the process. You have to talk to a tech support rep for an unlock code that changes every time you access.

They said a surge in voltage may have wiped out the information pertaining to the vehicle- model, wheel base, final gear ratio, etc. I was on hold longer than it took the time to update the Vehicle ID.

Going to have the alternator checked out.
Heavy_GD likes this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
powercho is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 09-27-2016, 01:52 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
same issue can you explain how you fixed it?
Payin2play is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 09-28-2016, 12:49 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 335
Thanks: 0
Thanked 28 Times in 28 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Just went through this myself....took truck to Ford and had them flash the PCM with as built data, and then reloaded tuner before truck was started.....took about 40 mins.
tofer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome