Tuner missing from Used F250 - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4L Problems Forum Having Trouble? Post here

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-18-2012, 02:07 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Tuner missing from Used F250

Hey guys, new to the Forums here just wanted to say hey first.

I recently bought a used 08 F250 SD 6.4L King Ranch. I'm new to diesels but i'm learning quickly. Anywho, it just started throwing a code for the engine temp not running at correct level. It's around 30 degrees here in the mornings now and i can start the truck and let it run for around 15 mins and the engine temp does not move. Only moves slightly on long drives. Which i was told meant to change the thermostats. Lead me to believe that one is stuck open, does that sound about right?

That being said it has had a DPF and EGR Delete done to it, but did not come with a tuner. From talking to friends they think it only has a delete tune on it cause of it not producing from what im told anymore power than stock. Sorry about the blabbering but my question is how should i go about getting another tuner? In the glove box it had a Disc that has the SCT logo on it. Is it possible to get the SCT tuner offline and it work for what i need? Someone mentioned to me that to be able to tune it i need to have the stock tune which would be on the tuner that tuned the truck in the first place. True? Anyway, just looking for a little advise on what to do. I appreciate all the help i can get. Again, Thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 11-18-2012, 03:03 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 1,314
Thanks: 3
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The only way would be to somehow get it returned to stock. You could probably go to the dealer and pay for them to reflash it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 11-19-2012, 06:38 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4,256
Thanks: 15
Thanked 65 Times in 64 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I would probably buy another tuner. Then you could have the dealer reflash it and then you would be able to tune it and you would know which tune you are running.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors