Really Bad Orange Peel - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4L Problems Forum Having Trouble? Post here

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-10-2007, 06:33 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Question Really Bad Orange Peel

I guess this isn't really a 6.4 exclusive problem, but my truck came in today and I went down to take a look.

Gorgeous.

However, it has a really bad (to me) case of "orange peeling" in the finish.

I'm a carpenter by trade, and nothing irritates me more than when people who know nothing about wood try and tell me what is acceptable in regards to expectations about a final product. So I want to make sure that I get some input into something that is clearly something that I don't know a whole lot about.

However, I have heard that this is something to look out for.

The truck is black, and it is clearly noticeable, and it also seems to be heavier in the upper portions of the truck. The sales person and sales manager tried to tell me it was normal, but the black Lincoln towncar right beside it clearly did not have the same problem, and they both had sticker prices over 60k.

What is realistic to expect when it comes to this problem, and what lengths should I go to to see that this problem is corrected?

Thanks in advance for any and all advice or input.

Joel.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-10-2007, 10:06 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

I have noticed orange peel affect in all powerstroke trucks. I believe this is due to heavier paint coating. Not sure I would want a truck with anything else,unless it is strictly a show truck.
Over 60k for an f250? Wow...i havent seen any that high yet on the lots yet !
Old 10-10-2007, 10:29 PM

my black 04 ex looks like it has fisheyes, and my neighbors 08 orangepeal. just the nature of the beast i guess
Old 10-10-2007, 10:49 PM