Still having TPMS trouble - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4L Problems Forum Having Trouble? Post here

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 Old 04-15-2010, 11:26 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Blk04Snake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Potsdam, NY
Posts: 222
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Still having TPMS trouble

So I'm still trying to figure out my TPMS problem. My 2010 has the sensors on the valve stems, not the band and sensor around the rim.

Here's what I've tried today:



This handy dandy tool is supposed to check the sensors, and trigger them to transmit if the truck is put into learn mode. I have a new sensor that I got from Ford and when I get anywhere near it with the tool it picks it up fine. However, on ALL 4 wheels the tool isn't picking the sensors up.

What is the likelyhood that all 4 of my sensors are bad? Or could the problem be that they won't transmit thru the Toyo tires? I don't think that is the case though because on the first F250 I had these tires on it, and the same valve stems/sensors, just different wheels, and the TPMS system worked fine.

2010 F250 Lariat CC/SB, Icon 2.5, 35s on 20s, Spartan, AFE 4" SS Downpipe back. RIP 1/13/10

2010 F350 Lariat CC/SB BDS leveling kit, BMF, Toyo, Recon, N-Fab, Spartan, AFE, Flo-Pro, MBRP
Blk04Snake is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 04-18-2010, 05:55 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Yuma
Posts: 236
Thanks: 3
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
My TPMS light came on within the first 100 miles. Brand new truck with stock tires. Pressure was 75 all the way around, but the light stayed on. When I disconnected the battery to put my CAI on, it went out. I'm sure you've probably tried that, but if not, it's worth a try. Only problem is re programming the radio again
64physhy is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 04-18-2010, 08:38 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Blk04Snake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Potsdam, NY
Posts: 222
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Already tried that... When I was installing my CAI that I took right back off and sent back to exchange for a different kind.. Didn't do a thing. I scanned the system and I have 2 fault codes, not just for low pressure so it's not recognizing the sensors at all.

2010 F250 Lariat CC/SB, Icon 2.5, 35s on 20s, Spartan, AFE 4" SS Downpipe back. RIP 1/13/10

2010 F350 Lariat CC/SB BDS leveling kit, BMF, Toyo, Recon, N-Fab, Spartan, AFE, Flo-Pro, MBRP
Blk04Snake is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 04-21-2010, 08:54 PM
Premium Member
 
Errick NDA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Welcome,N.C
Posts: 433
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Garage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ive got the same tool ,it works fine on somethings and it sucks on others ! The another way to do it but you have to have a IDS Ford scanner !
Errick NDA is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 04-21-2010, 08:59 PM
Premium Member
 
Errick NDA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Welcome,N.C
Posts: 433
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Garage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
By the way I was just looking at you pic ! Are those new wheels ? If so the vavle stem in youre pick isnt a TPMS vavle stem ,or is it the band type ! If its not the band type then will have to install the TPS monitors in your wheels ! Ive senn that happin tomany times ,someone buys new wheels and complains of Low tire pressure light !
Errick NDA is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 04-23-2010, 06:40 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Blk04Snake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Potsdam, NY
Posts: 222
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It's a TPMS valve stem. I had to buy new replacement stem portions that screw onto the sensor for all 4 of them when he switched the sensors from the Mazzi wheels to the BMF wheels. The sensors are in there, just the Smart Junction Box and the green TPMS tool are not picking them up. I've got one new sensor here on the table, and 2 more in the mail I picked up on ebay new in the box for $25 each. We will see what happens.

2010 F250 Lariat CC/SB, Icon 2.5, 35s on 20s, Spartan, AFE 4" SS Downpipe back. RIP 1/13/10

2010 F350 Lariat CC/SB BDS leveling kit, BMF, Toyo, Recon, N-Fab, Spartan, AFE, Flo-Pro, MBRP
Blk04Snake is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 04-24-2010, 04:52 PM
Premium Member
 
mor4wd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: South Texas
Posts: 1,126
Thanks: 1
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Dumb question but have you done the "reset" on the truck's TPMS. I know how to do it on 08 and 09 but the 10 has a different way of putting it into "learn" mode. On mine, I had to do a sequence of key on, brake pedal things and the dash display will go into what the call "learn". It is built into all the trucks but really only necessary when you switch sensors out or for when you rotate tires on a truck that specifies different PSI's for front and rear. Once you go into learn mode, it'll display "Learn Left Front", so you go out with your sensor activation tool and get the sensor to come out of sleep mode on the left front. I think it goes around clockwise around the truck. Anyway, look it up in your manual under Tires and Maintenance. Hope that helps. When I switched stock wheels and tires to another set of stock wheels and tires with different TPM sensors that's what fixed it.

2011 F350 Lariat SRW Crew Cab Long Bed 4x4 6.7 H&S Mini Maxx DPF Delete EGR Delete running 265/70/19.5's

Quote:
Originally Posted by magzne1 View Post
Chevy comercials are like OBAMA, ALL B.S. over promise and under deliver
Quote:
Originally Posted by trevor73402 View Post
This stuff isn't as simple as tuning your TiVo to record your Jerry Springer re-runs while your out cruising Wal-mart parking lot for transexual hookers.
mor4wd is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 04-24-2010, 05:17 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: San Diego
Posts: 158
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thats what they did with mine today. key on and off a few times and then teh brake pedal. it honks then says train front left and then works its way around.

2009 F250 CC/LB 4x4 6.4 Sterling Grey
AFE Stage II PG-7, Spartan with 310 and tcm, dpf/doc and magnaflow exhaust, 6k hids fogs and low/highs, Custom Rize 11 inch lift with fox coilvers and atlas springs, custom traction bar and BMF SOTAs with 38 inch toyos
sdcarguy is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 04-25-2010, 08:19 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Blk04Snake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Potsdam, NY
Posts: 222
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yes I'm trying to do the training but it's not picking up the sensors. Have tried it with the tool and the other way that the owners manual says to let the air out of the tires till the horn honks. Neither way is working.

2010 F250 Lariat CC/SB, Icon 2.5, 35s on 20s, Spartan, AFE 4" SS Downpipe back. RIP 1/13/10

2010 F350 Lariat CC/SB BDS leveling kit, BMF, Toyo, Recon, N-Fab, Spartan, AFE, Flo-Pro, MBRP
Blk04Snake is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 04-25-2010, 09:10 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: San Diego
Posts: 158
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
could it be the front left which is where you start is bad? the guy at discount tried to start at the back left and the tool said it activated but the truck didnt give 2 ****s until he went to the front left.

2009 F250 CC/LB 4x4 6.4 Sterling Grey
AFE Stage II PG-7, Spartan with 310 and tcm, dpf/doc and magnaflow exhaust, 6k hids fogs and low/highs, Custom Rize 11 inch lift with fox coilvers and atlas springs, custom traction bar and BMF SOTAs with 38 inch toyos
sdcarguy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome