Tire monitor error? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4L Problems Forum Having Trouble? Post here

User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old 03-28-2010, 04:34 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
09monster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Tire monitor error?

Ok I put 38's on... and put the monitors on the new rims too... and im gettin a "tire pressure monitor fault"... not low tire pressure... how do I fix it?

Last edited by 09monster; 03-28-2010 at 06:29 PM.
09monster is offline  
post #2 of 9 Old 03-29-2010, 08:54 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
09monster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
also if I turn the truck off and let it cool down and sit for an hour or 2 it will go off and about 30 mins into driving it will come back on
09monster is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 03-29-2010, 10:13 AM
Powerstroke Techie

 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Retrain the sensors to the truck, make sure the pressures are right, and make sure the sensors are able to transmit trough the tires.

Make sure the sensors aren't damaged, also. They are fairly easy to damage during installation/removal of tires.

Ford Senior Diesel Technician
2008 F-350 4x4 Off Road 6.4 Powerstroke Diesel
There are strange things done 'neath the midnight sun by the men who moil for gold.
The arctic trails have their secret tales that would make your blood run cold.
Big Angry Hillbilly is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 04-02-2010, 11:08 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Blk04Snake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Potsdam, NY
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'm having this same problem. Only difference is mine does it the instant you turn the key on. I've taken it into the dealer and they are no help at all. Is there any way to check the sensors without dismounting the tires? Sometimes it says "Tire pressure sensor fault" on the screen and other times it says "Tire pressure monitor fault" and it comes on immediately every time I turn the truck on.

Thanks

2010 F250 Lariat CC/SB, Icon 2.5, 35s on 20s, Spartan, AFE 4" SS Downpipe back. RIP 1/13/10

2010 F350 Lariat CC/SB BDS leveling kit, BMF, Toyo, Recon, N-Fab, Spartan, AFE, Flo-Pro, MBRP
Blk04Snake is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 04-07-2010, 03:19 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
abruno25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: long island new york
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i have the same problem with new 37" i just put on... ran on them for about 100 miles and then the tire "sensor monitor fault" came up is there a way to reset these? i have a bmw and there was a way to reset the sensors when you filled the tires up to the right pressure... any help from anyone?

abruno25 is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 04-18-2010, 04:57 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Escondido, CA
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
What is the pressure in tires you all are running? I know some of the bigger tires are run at lower pressures than the stock ones that the TPMS was designed to work with.
64physhy is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 04-18-2010, 07:39 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Blk04Snake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Potsdam, NY
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
What we are all getting here is a monitor fault, not a low pressure reading. Looks like it's time to dismount the tires and look for faulty sensors

2010 F250 Lariat CC/SB, Icon 2.5, 35s on 20s, Spartan, AFE 4" SS Downpipe back. RIP 1/13/10

2010 F350 Lariat CC/SB BDS leveling kit, BMF, Toyo, Recon, N-Fab, Spartan, AFE, Flo-Pro, MBRP
Blk04Snake is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 04-19-2010, 12:53 AM
Warheads on Foreheads
 
superdutydixie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Houghton, LA
Posts: 1,812
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
can you guys just run the tires with the faults and forget about it? do these sensors effect ABS?

09 F-250 Superduty CCSB
SOLD
superdutydixie is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 04-19-2010, 07:16 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: San Diego
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I am now getting the same fault with my new 38s and bmf wheels...

2009 F250 CC/LB 4x4 6.4 Sterling Grey
AFE Stage II PG-7, Spartan with 310 and tcm, dpf/doc and magnaflow exhaust, 6k hids fogs and low/highs, Custom Rize 11 inch lift with fox coilvers and atlas springs, custom traction bar and BMF SOTAs with 38 inch toyos
sdcarguy is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome