SCT Question - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

 1Likes
  • 1 Post By dnaber
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 Old 03-01-2014, 08:10 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
dnaber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
SCT Question

Just got my SCT 3015 X3. Getting ready to install my first tune. Once I plug this in will it auto save my current tune? Or is there an option to perform this once I get started. Thanks


Sent from AutoGuide.com App

Don Naber
USAF (Retired)
Middleburg, FL.
God Bless America, And All That Serve This Great Nation
dnaber is offline  
post #2 of 7 Old 03-01-2014, 08:12 AM
Suck, Squish, Bang, Blow!





 
dfuzz78's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 6,888
Thanks: 236
Thanked 189 Times in 157 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnaber View Post
Just got my SCT 3015 X3. Getting ready to install my first tune. Once I plug this in will it auto save my current tune? Or is there an option to perform this once I get started. Thanks


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Yes it will, then it is HIGHLY recommended that you save your stock program onto your computer.

Denis "Lt. Sled"
2006 F-350 Crew Cab Long Bed Dark Shadow Gray

462hp / 927ft-lbs Corrected
ARP Head Studs, NUC Motorsports Oil Bypass, CFM+ Intake Elbow, Wicked Wheel 2
Bullet Proof Diesel FICM w/Atlas 40, SCT SF3 w/SPD by TSD! Grover Fire Truck Horns
Cab Light Mod, Blue Spring Mod, Zoodad Mod, High Idle Mod, Lost EGR Mod
LED Light Upgrades from Retro-Solutions 08-10 Side Mirrors from 1A Auto

dfuzz78 is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 03-01-2014, 09:22 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Franchi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Columbus OHIO
Posts: 489
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 22 reviews
It will autosave your OEM tune first time you use it on the vehicle. That's why programming it the first time takes twice as long.

And once you do, back it up on your computer with the SCT Updater program that way in case the tuner ever bricks or gets stolen, you still have your OEM tune saved.
Franchi is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 03-02-2014, 02:40 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
dnaber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
After loading the Street tune I want to try the Performance. Do i have to take it back to stock first? Still playing with the canned tunes until i get my pipes. Also if I set the engine to performance do I or should I do the same to the transmission? Thanks


Sent from AutoGuide.com App

Don Naber
USAF (Retired)
Middleburg, FL.
God Bless America, And All That Serve This Great Nation
dnaber is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 03-02-2014, 09:54 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Franchi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Columbus OHIO
Posts: 489
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 22 reviews
No, you dont have to go back to stock, you can just switched from the street to performance, to tow, ect ect
Franchi is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 03-02-2014, 01:17 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
dnaber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
SCT Question

Ok, just up'ed it to Performance/Performance. I will run it in the morning. One thing I notice was the transmission temp gauge during the update went to about the normal operating temp. And it did the same on initial start up. Is this normal? Thanks

BTW the lie'o meter is telling me about 19.5 on a short trip on Street/Stock, that a 3 MPG increase. I know not to trust it but it makes me feel good. And yes today its all about me : )


Don
john galt likes this.

Don Naber
USAF (Retired)
Middleburg, FL.
God Bless America, And All That Serve This Great Nation
dnaber is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 03-02-2014, 02:15 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
dnaber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ok, I just rechecked and the temp gauge was back at cold. I guess the transmission temp probe may get heated during the update. So now I will be able to sleep tonight.

Don


Sent from AutoGuide.com App

Don Naber
USAF (Retired)
Middleburg, FL.
God Bless America, And All That Serve This Great Nation
dnaber is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome