filter vs. CAI - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

6.4L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old 08-13-2008, 12:56 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,211
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
filter vs. CAI

I'm considering getting a CAI for my truck, but I keep getting stuck. I look at all the available kits and I'm hard pressed to see how ANY of the kits could possibly flow more air than stock. Every single unit is limited by the size of the opening into the fender well. Can someone give me any good reason NOT to just buy a filter, and run it in the stock box?
po-po 5.0 is offline  
post #2 of 9 Old 08-13-2008, 01:29 PM
Let's Run'em


 
TwinTurboStroker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 17,820
Thanks: 5
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to TwinTurboStroker
Quote:
Originally Posted by po-po 5.0 View Post
I'm considering getting a CAI for my truck, but I keep getting stuck. I look at all the available kits and I'm hard pressed to see how ANY of the kits could possibly flow more air than stock. Every single unit is limited by the size of the opening into the fender well. Can someone give me any good reason NOT to just buy a filter, and run it in the stock box?
Well I've raised that question myself......but I do know wone thing for fact, if you plan on re-programming the truck past a 125HP tune your going to need some type of CAI or high flow filter simply because the truck will need more than what the stock intake will allow and you'll get a check filter light. Hell for the first time the other day my AFE stage with a pre-filter threw light because the pre-filter was too dirty and not letting enough air through

-Julian
Facebook
4th 6.fo
TwinTurboStroker is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 08-13-2008, 01:45 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,211
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwinTurboStroker View Post
Well I've raised that question myself......but I do know wone thing for fact, if you plan on re-programming the truck past a 125HP tune your going to need some type of CAI or high flow filter simply because the truck will need more than what the stock intake will allow and you'll get a check filter light. Hell for the first time the other day my AFE stage with a pre-filter threw light because the pre-filter was too dirty and not letting enough air through
AFE has a prefilter? Do you mean one of those fabric socks you put over the filter?



Looking at the stock element, I have to believe its restrictive. Looking at the stock box.....I can't see how you can improve on that. I mean, MAYBE you can make a larger volume box (like what roush is doing) but thats about it!
po-po 5.0 is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 08-13-2008, 01:54 PM
Let's Run'em


 
TwinTurboStroker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 17,820
Thanks: 5
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to TwinTurboStroker
Quote:
Originally Posted by po-po 5.0 View Post
AFE has a prefilter? Do you mean one of those fabric socks you put over the filter?



Looking at the stock element, I have to believe its restrictive. Looking at the stock box.....I can't see how you can improve on that. I mean, MAYBE you can make a larger volume box (like what roush is doing) but thats about it!
Fabric socks .....yeah that thing, it came with the kit when I bought it.

Well it depends on what you mean by improve on it......with an open air element like the AFE you get more air flow, but its not cold. It gets hot air from the engine, which if you run it hot weather and run the 250 tune, like I do as well as some other people, then you run into a problem with ambient air temp parameter for intake getting high and throwing a CEL. I'm running a different tune for the 250HP tune to see if works and so far so good.

Also please don't fall for the "this CAI pulls are from the side vent" at high speeds that going to act like a vacuum do more harm than good

Really the best thing for the truck would be some type of ram air set-up and from what understand its being looked at and is in the works.....I just hope it looks good

-Julian
Facebook
4th 6.fo
TwinTurboStroker is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 08-13-2008, 01:58 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,211
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwinTurboStroker View Post
Fabric socks .....yeah that thing, it came with the kit when I bought it.

Well it depends on what you mean by improve on it......with an open air element like the AFE you get more air flow, but its not cold. It gets hot air from the engine, which if you run it hot weather and run the 250 tune, like I do as well as some other people, then you run into a problem with ambient air temp parameter for intake getting high and throwing a CEL. I'm running a different tune for the 250HP tune to see if works and so far so good.

Also please don't fall for the "this CAI pulls are from the side vent" at high speeds that going to act like a vacuum do more harm than good

Really the best thing for the truck would be some type of ram air set-up and from what understand its being looked at and is in the works.....I just hope it looks good
Oh, I don't fall for any of those tricks. I sold a '00 lightning to get my superduty, and I think I had the last lightning on the planet with a stock airbox. I just ran a k&n drop-in filter in the stock box, and I wasn't "missing" any power compared to the guys with CAIs and similar mods.

Air raid makes a drop-in filter for our trucks @ $70 vs. $250+ for a complete cold air. As far as looks go......the CAIs look better. However, I doubt my truck is ever going to win a carshow so I just can't justify the additional money? Seems like a drop-in filter + maybe some massaging of the stock box's opening oughta be just as good as a CAI without the price tag?
po-po 5.0 is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 08-13-2008, 02:02 PM
FJuanfiddy mod


 
Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Trempealeau, WI
Posts: 31,826
Thanks: 132
Thanked 186 Times in 166 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Whatever you do stay away from the K&N drop ins they dont seal well enough for a diesel application

Email: Dave@powerstroke.org
2011 F150 Ecoboost Crew cab lariat. Custom tunes from KEM and 5Star, and Unleashed
2012 F150 Crew Cab Ecoboost stock for now-Totaled March 12 2015
2006 F250 ECSB Lariat 4x4

Leveling kit, 315/70/17 Kelly TSRs on Method race wheels
ARP studs and OEM gaskets done by Renegade Diesel
ECM and Atlas 40 FICM tuned by Bill at PHP SCT tunes by Truck Source Diesel. Gearhead, Innovative, Wildman and Tyrant diesel
Flowmaster/MBRP Hybrid Exhaust
Edge Insight CTS
Coolant filter
Bulletproof diesel FICM EGR Delete, Oil Cooler and Water Pump, and Light bar.
Dually LED lights from Stealth Automotive/Xpedition Outfitters
No Limit Fab 6.0 Cold Air Intake
http://www.bulletproofdiesel.com/default.asp
http://nolimitfabrication.com/
Dave is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 08-13-2008, 02:08 PM
Let's Run'em


 
TwinTurboStroker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 17,820
Thanks: 5
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to TwinTurboStroker
Quote:
Originally Posted by po-po 5.0 View Post
Oh, I don't fall for any of those tricks. I sold a '00 lightning to get my superduty, and I think I had the last lightning on the planet with a stock airbox. I just ran a k&n drop-in filter in the stock box, and I wasn't "missing" any power compared to the guys with CAIs and similar mods.

Air raid makes a drop-in filter for our trucks @ $70 vs. $250+ for a complete cold air. As far as looks go......the CAIs look better. However, I doubt my truck is ever going to win a carshow so I just can't justify the additional money? Seems like a drop-in filter + maybe some massaging of the stock box's opening oughta be just as good as a CAI without the price tag?
I totally agree with you........but just remember if you decide to reprogram the truck for some serious power its something that you going to have to spend money on

-Julian
Facebook
4th 6.fo
TwinTurboStroker is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 08-13-2008, 02:35 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,211
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwinTurboStroker View Post
I totally agree with you........but just remember if you decide to reprogram the truck for some serious power its something that you going to have to spend money on
You really think so? I'm most definetly going to get a Spartan tuner with a DPF delete as soon as my pocketbook allows. You don't think an airrraid filter alone is going to move enough air?
po-po 5.0 is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 08-13-2008, 02:40 PM
Let's Run'em


 
TwinTurboStroker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 17,820
Thanks: 5
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to TwinTurboStroker
Quote:
Originally Posted by po-po 5.0 View Post
You really think so? I'm most definetly going to get a Spartan tuner with a DPF delete as soon as my pocketbook allows. You don't think an airrraid filter alone is going to move enough air?
Yup, even Matt ran into that problem. He wanted to stay with the stock intake, but the turbos just ask for to much air to quickly for the stocker to handle it......

-Julian
Facebook
4th 6.fo

Last edited by TwinTurboStroker; 08-13-2008 at 02:41 PM. Reason: I'm retarded
TwinTurboStroker is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome