Boost or turbo - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-17-2013, 04:32 AM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Boost or turbo

I have 08 with studs, egr delete, 4 in pipes going down to 5, 4 in cold side, new oil cooler, new up pipe ( oil cooler and up pipe less than 2 months old). Truck has been running flawless. I get in with family yesterday make small trip. I kinda noticed truck seemed loud under hood but I typically got radio up so I thought maybe it just me. But then I went go around someone and it didn't have get up at all like my truck normally has, looked down noticed hardly any boost. On highway the most I could get was 15lbs. I looked yesterday evening, til dark trying find hose off( I'm no mechanic at all, I learn everything from you guys) like I said it sounds really loud under hood and too me seems like it's on drivers side. If in park and hit gas really don't hear it but under load it's loud. To me it seemed like turbo was kinda getting really hot but again I never really thought about it before so it may not be. I out truck in drive, did break stand, then shut truck off. I didn't hear any grinding from the turbo.if standing on drivers side it kinda sounds like a buzzing noise coming from top motor on drivers side. I hadn't noticed b4 but it coulda always done that. Anyways sorry for the long post.it suppose be really bad weather here today( tornado) so idk what else I can check. I thought about taking boots off see if any rips, although they looked fine by just looking. Again guys I'm no mechanic at all, but if you guys got any idea where to look it would be so appreciated. Thks for any help friends.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-17-2013, 10:21 AM
Compression Ignition Addict