Spartan Update Procedure - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-31-2008, 09:31 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Spartan Update Procedure

Spartan or Paphrump, can you please make sure this is the step by step procedure for updating my Dashdaq before I do it? Thanks in advance!

- Return truck to stock via the Dashdaq.
- Remove the card from the Dashdaq.
- Download the 1128 firmware into my computer.
- Unzip the 1128 folder.
- Copy the DashDAQ-1.3.5-1128-pp-1.0.13 file to the transfer folder.
- Copy the transfer folder (containing stock tune, 3 custom tunes and the firmware update files) from my Computer to the card.
- Inert the card back into the Dashdaq.
- Reload desired tune back into truck.
- Follow Paphrump's instructions in another post to view new gauges.

Is that correct? Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 07-31-2008, 09:46 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Beaumont TX
Posts: 3,802
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Looks to be right to me.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 07-31-2008, 09:50 AM
Let's Run'em


 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 17,691
Thanks: 4
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to TwinTurboStroker
They recommend putting it to stock, but as long as you have your stock file saved on your computer your fine.....

Also, I don't believe you have to remove the SD card
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 07-31-2008, 09:56 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Confused

I guess that is where i am confused or maybe its the same thing.

If I remove the SD card and plug the card into my PC and send the transfer folder to the card that is fine?

Or

If I leave the SD card in the DD, plug the DD into my PC and then send the transfer to the DD with a cable that is fine? (I haven't tried this before)

I gues I am wondering if I put the file on the card and out the card back in the DD, then does the DD automatically pull the updte from the card?

I am probably making it more complicated than it is, but I dont want to screw up and get stranded at work. Thanks guys!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 07-31-2008, 10:02 AM
Let's Run'em


 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 17,691
Thanks: 4
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to TwinTurboStroker
Quote:
Originally Posted by FLS351 View Post
I guess that is where i am confused or maybe its the same thing.

If I remove the SD card and plug the card into my PC and send the transfer folder to the card that is fine?

Or

If I leave the SD card in the DD, plug the DD into my PC and then send the transfer to the DD with a cable that is fine? (I haven't tried this before)

I gues I am wondering if I put the file on the card and out the card back in the DD, then does the DD automatically pull the updte from the card?

I am probably making it more complicated than it is, but I dont want to screw up and get stranded at work. Thanks guys!
Yeah I got confused on that.................
All you have to do is when you have the file downloaded to you pc and ready to go you.....
You plug to DD to the PC use the USB on the left side
You open up the DD updater
You click on the file that is being shown on the updater
You click on update and it should bring up the file open menu
Find your new file for the firmware and click open
Then just wait for it update itself, should take no more than 2 minutes
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 07-31-2008, 10:04 AM
Let's Run'em


 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 17,691
Thanks: 4
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to TwinTurboStroker
I see what your trying to say........

Think of it this way......
The SD in the DD is like a floppy disk in your PC.
When you "update" windows on your PC it doesn't affect the floppy disk
The SD only works when you open or access it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 07-31-2008, 10:08 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks! I really was hoping that I could remove the card from the DD, pop the card in my PC, sent the transfer file with the revision in it from my PC to the SD card and then put the card back into the DD and the DD will then update itself. That way I dont have to remove the DD from the truck. Will that work?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 07-31-2008, 10:11 AM
Let's Run'em


 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 17,691
Thanks: 4
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to TwinTurboStroker
Quote:
Originally Posted by FLS351 View Post
Thanks! I really was hoping that I could remove the card from the DD, pop the card in my PC, sent the transfer file with the revision in it from my PC to the SD card and then put the card back into the DD and the DD will then update itself. That way I dont have to remove the DD from the truck. Will that work?
Oh no I don't think that will work......it shouldn't be that hard to remove the DD from the truck right, just unplug it and leave the plug there if have wired it behind panels and just take it in, I mean you have to do the same with the SD
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 07-31-2008, 10:16 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I knew it was too easy (my way). I am glad I asked. Thanks for the fast response. I'll go snatch it out now.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors