Gauges with an xrt pro - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-27-2013, 07:27 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 43
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Gauges with an xrt pro

I'm currently running my xrt pro on the Lower settings but have been thinking of taking the plunge and running the higher ones for even better fuel economy but have no egt gauge or boost over 40lbs. Is the insight from edge pretty much my only option or is it possible to get just a basic egt gauge on the pillar?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 10-27-2013, 07:37 PM
Ordnance on coordinates

 

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Camden County
Posts: 1,162
Thanks: 4
Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
you can get an egt gauge from many a company. i have auto meter. glowshift is 50/50 and isspro is held pretty high.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 10-27-2013, 10:07 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 224
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
do the CTS, one of the best mods done to my truck. it seems to be reading accurately and the gauges are great/easy to read. but there is something about looking at an actual gauge. you can get 2 and three pod pillar mounts for these truck... maybe a 4.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 10-28-2013, 04:51 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 288
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
insight x 2
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 10-28-2013, 11:12 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 43
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
does the insight pull its reading from the ecm on the truck or do you still have to drill and tap like in the past? i thought the truck had a factory installed egt probe before the turbo? so i didnt know if an analog gauge would work or if a insight was pretty much my only option to use the factory probe?

also how high of egt does the insight read? ive heard of over 15-1600 degrees egt with the hot damn tunes

Last edited by STEVEFX64; 10-28-2013 at 11:15 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 10-28-2013, 11:46 AM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor

 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ventura County, CA
Posts: 20,356
Thanks: 23
Thanked 23 Times in 14 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Raul@Stealth Automotive
you can do regular analog gauges or a CS/CTS.... i prefer the CTS.... i can get you a price on it if your interested...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 10-28-2013, 02:00 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: I'm here
Posts: 280
Thanks: 3
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Just plugs into the obd port and set what you want to monitor.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 10-29-2013, 05:03 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 43
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
so am i understanding this right that the edge pulls all of its readings from under the dash through the obd port? theres no drilling and tapping for it on a 6.4?


also with the old style pod gauges how would they draw thier readings would you have to wire in somehow?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 10-29-2013, 05:39 PM
Ordnance on coordinates

 

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Camden County
Posts: 1,162
Thanks: 4
Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by STEVEFX64 View Post
so am i understanding this right that the edge pulls all of its readings from under the dash through the obd port? theres no drilling and tapping for it on a 6.4?


also with the old style pod gauges how would they draw thier readings would you have to wire in somehow?
You are Correct
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 10-29-2013, 06:30 PM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor

 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ventura County, CA
Posts: 20,356
Thanks: 23
Thanked 23 Times in 14 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Raul@Stealth Automotive
Quote:
Originally Posted by STEVEFX64 View Post
so am i understanding this right that the edge pulls all of its readings from under the dash through the obd port? theres no drilling and tapping for it on a 6.4?


also with the old style pod gauges how would they draw thier readings would you have to wire in somehow?
yes the edge can view everything you need out of the obd 2 port... Analog gauges will have to be tapped in...

we can get you both styles
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors