late lock vs. early lock - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-11-2013, 02:47 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
late lock vs. early lock

Hey guys! I'm kinda new to the diesel truck scene and I spartanized my truck and I'm wondering which is better for a daily driver. I don't do a lot of highway but will be doing some when we go camping. Right now I am running 210LL.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-11-2013, 02:50 PM
Warheads on Foreheads

I used to drive mostly city with H&S, so I had mine set to lock in 4th at 35mph and lock in 5th at 50 mph. Gave me the best mpg but now I drive a mix so I only have it lock at 50 mph in 5th gear. Not sure if that helps since I don't have spartan
Old 06-12-2013, 10:35 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

What ate your gears in the rear 3:55 if so use EL.
Old 06-12-2013, 04:48 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

I would also use EL
Old 06-12-2013, 08:59 PM

I have 3.55 gears on a 2010 and use LL. Have tried both, but always go back. Suggest you try both as well and pick what works best for you.
Old 06-13-2013, 04:59 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

I'm not 100% positive but I think I have 3.73 gears in mine.
Old 06-13-2013, 06:36 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

I have actually never tried LL so like the other poster suggested try both and you decide what you like best..
I have always seen Jeff from Spartan suggest EL with 3:55 gears... At least I think so ,now I am second guessing myself...
Old 06-13-2013, 08:07 PM

I use both but prefer early. I have 3.73 with 35'' tires.

Try both, I think youll prefer early but ya never know, nice to have options!
Old 06-14-2013, 08:05 AM