tuner with dpf delete - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-28-2013, 05:08 PM
Member
 

Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 47
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
tuner with dpf delete

I did down pipe down back exhaust and dpf tuner now my truck is idealing really high. On the tuner i did race exhaust but said no to removing all admissions. Should i have said yes to removing all admissions
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 05-28-2013, 05:35 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 1
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
What tuner? Sounds like SCT, you should have said yes to all emissions deleted on everything. You need the sensors plugged in for sct though
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 05-29-2013, 03:25 AM
Member
 

Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 47
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
yes its sct so I should plug the tuner back in and say yes all emissions deleted and the idle will come down? the sensors are still on the stock exhaust I took off
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 05-29-2013, 06:34 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 208
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You removed all the emissions equipment, then told your tuner all the emissions equipment was still there? That sounds like your problem.

And yes, your SCT tuner needs those sensors. Hopefully your new exhaust has bungs so you can reinstall them. If not, I think you can get away with plugging them in and tying them to the frame or something instead of putting them in the exhaust. There's a fair chance you broke one or more of them while removing the DPF. They're pretty fragile. If they're bent at all that usually means they won't work.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 05-29-2013, 06:57 AM
Member
 

Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 47
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ok thanks is it just the three sensors or that forth module looking thing to
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 05-29-2013, 09:45 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 1
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I think just the three temp sensors. Try that and see if that fixes your problem, if not, then youll need to have the pressure sensor hooked up too
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 05-30-2013, 01:37 AM
Member
 

Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 47
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
So i returned the truck to stock and plugged the sensors in then tuned it now no start 2 of the sensors got kinda beat up if i replace them itl correct the problem?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 05-30-2013, 06:35 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 1
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Im not sure why you returned to stock? But anyways, check for codes. Unplug the sensors and see if it will start even though it will idle high
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 05-31-2013, 04:16 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Groveport, Ohio
Posts: 538
Thanks: 5
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You want to return to stock, then retune, THEN restart truck. It may have gone into some safe mode or something when you tuned it to stock and it didn't have the DPF at all? I dunno.

But yeah, if its the SCT livewire, you want to say YES to removing the DPF system, that is what you just did.

Slow down, take your time, and ask questions BEFORE making any big changes or mistakes.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 06-01-2013, 02:34 AM
Member
 

Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 47
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
thanks truck is running now I got new egt's and retuned it im obviously new to the tuner stuff what happens when I go to get a sticker and they plug the machine into the obd port does it screw any thing up
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors