TCSLIP 900 in lockup :( ? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-25-2013, 05:14 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Williston, ND
Posts: 120
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
TCSLIP 900 in lockup :( ?

When i bought my truck it had the spartan installed on it and was running the 150 (DPF off tune) while the truck had a decent amount of power i felt like stepping it up a bit... and loaded the 275 tune... Did the trans relearn process several times and was still upset with the way it shifted... if i would get on it hard from a stop (75% throttle) it would take off fine but bang the next shift extremely violently most of the time.

After running this tune for 3 weeks and 800 miles i just couldnt take it anymore and switched down to the 175hp tune... and the trans shifts great! all but one time... I was driving along at about 30mph let out of it and was coasting... went to punch it and was like i hit it right on the shift point and it firmly planted the shift (still not as violent as the 275hp tune)

Running on the 175hp tune things seem to be working out alright but i am of course worried about the condition of the transmission...

When driving along and i get the convertor into lockup the TCSLIP on the spartan reads what it should .75 - 2 RPM, however if i hammer the throttle while the TC is in lockup the gauge then reads 900 RPM .... can this be right???? Should i plan on plopping down a bunch of $$$ for a new tranny soon?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-25-2013, 05:38 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 781
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yes sir, mine is the same way with my spartan tunes. I can def feel converter slip with the spartan 310EL that I dont feel with my custom files on my SCT.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 03-25-2013, 06:08 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Williston, ND
Posts: 120
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Do you think i can limp the transmission along for a while? It doesnt feel bad or anything really... Maybe I should come off of the 175hp tune and go to just a bit over stock
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 03-25-2013, 07:59 AM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor



 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 8,723
Thanks: 3
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
If you're seeing 900 rpm, the converter is no longer locked.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 03-25-2013, 08:01 AM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor



 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 8,723
Thanks: 3
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Just curious, has your tuner ever been updated?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 03-25-2013, 09:47 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Williston, ND
Posts: 120
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 08stroker250 View Post
Just curious, has your tuner ever been updated?
I highly doubt it... I bought the truck with the tuner already installed....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 03-25-2013, 09:55 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Williston, ND
Posts: 120
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Jeff,

Do i then have to pay to "relicense" the truck if i wish to update the tunes?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 03-25-2013, 09:55 AM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor



 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 8,723
Thanks: 3
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You should probably look into updating. The newer files will shift better.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 03-25-2013, 09:56 AM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor



 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 8,723
Thanks: 3
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by rebel102285 View Post
Jeff,

Do i then have to pay to "relicense" the truck if i wish to update the tunes?
No. The tuner is already licensed to that truck. Why would you need to license it again?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 03-25-2013, 10:23 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Williston, ND
Posts: 120
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I wasnt sure if they were licensed to the truck or to the original purchaser.

I will look into updating the tunes---- But for now.... With my TC going to 900 rpm it is coming out of lock (im running it up to about 70mph like this and it stays roughly the same) so i am assuming i should plan on a new trans in the very near future.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors