do i need an intake with my tuner - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-12-2013, 04:04 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 54
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
do i need an intake with my tuner

so I im getting ready to buy my tuner and exhaust soon but just wondering if I need to get the intake or not. my buddys dad is a master diesel tech for ford and told me im taking a mojor risk buying an aftermarket intake for my truck cuz dust particles can pass through and ruin my motor by the way I live in Arizona so its extreamly dusty out here. what do you guys think?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 02-12-2013, 04:07 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 594
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I live in western texas. Just as dusty, if your going to be running huge tunes(250hp or HD300hp) then yes. I have a afe stage 2 and its an amazing intake!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 02-12-2013, 04:08 PM
Premium Member

 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 400
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I wouldn't run a tuner and exhaust without an aftermarket intake. Some guys do but they run low powered tunes. If you plan on running mid to high horsepower tunes then I would definitely pick up a cold air intake.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 02-12-2013, 04:09 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Far From Bieber
Posts: 2,065
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
+1 for AFE Stage II intake. Don't worry about the dust. You'll be fine. They are very good filters. The whistle is very nice with the AFE. Better than the sound of the S&B which is a cheaper intake and also is an upgrade from stock.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 02-12-2013, 06:02 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 54
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
should I get the oiled filter or dry filter? and it may sound like a stupid question but how is the dry filter cleaned
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 02-13-2013, 05:36 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Anyone have any experience with the bully dog intake? I picked up a used one cheap.. ive been running the 275 and 310 spartan with no issues, just wondering how it is compared to other intakes...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 02-13-2013, 06:26 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 594
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I like dry filters. Personally. I heard they were better than oiled filters
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 02-13-2013, 06:55 AM
Fueling M.A.D. Everywhere
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Rockwall, TX
Posts: 1,819
Thanks: 3
Thanked 33 Times in 23 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
do i need an intake with my tuner

If you run 210 or less you don't need an intake. Higher tunes, definitely. I popped my filter minder on 300 when I had the stock intake every time I got in the freeway.


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 02-13-2013, 02:42 PM
Premium Member

 

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Canton, Ga
Posts: 833
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Re: do i need an intake with my tuner

I have the stock intake with afe drop in filter and the lid cut out and have never had an issue even with 300+ hp tunes

Sent from my SCH-I535 using AutoGuide.Com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 02-13-2013, 02:47 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 256
Thanks: 7
Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I run a GREEN FILTER on my 6.4 with a 250HP tune.

No problems or Codes in 47,000+ tuned miles.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors