"Manual" ECU Flashing - 6.4L ECU Thread - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-27-2013, 08:54 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Question "Manual" ECU Flashing - 6.4L ECU Thread

I notice that there is no real discussion of tuning outside of using dedicated diesel tuning devices that marry themselves to one VIN number.

I would like to start discussion around what it takes to remove the ECU from a vehicle, disassemble it, dump the stock rom from the device, modify it, and flash it back.

This, of course, brings us close to the dangerous topic of using a licensed tuner product to flash a vehicle, extract the modified firmware via manual dump, flash back to stock, unlock the tuner device, and manually flash the tuned file back. While I do not condone this behavior, it does strike me as more of a violation of the manufacturer's terms of service than actual copyright infringement. Either way, let's please refrain from discussing this topic in this thread.

With that out of the way, who here has any information on the Ford ECU?

In addition, how much do we know about these tuning devices? Do they communicate via serial? JTAG? SPI? Is the ECU encrypted?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 01-30-2013, 02:44 PM
Premium Member

 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 400
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
you are talking chinese now. good luck with this
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 01-30-2013, 03:02 PM
Almostdunfukinwidit


 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Trempealeau, WI
Posts: 31,083
Thanks: 113
Thanked 98 Times in 90 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Why do that when you can do it using a laptop via the obdII port/
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 01-31-2013, 04:44 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: east coast
Posts: 842
Thanks: 7
Thanked 26 Times in 23 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'm interested in this too- but for one reason alone: having the ability to maintain the absence of certain emissions in the case of losing a PCM and not having tuners available to 'fix' them..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 01-31-2013, 04:56 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 669
Thanks: 4
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by drewactual View Post
I'm interested in this too- but for one reason alone: having the ability to maintain the absence of certain emissions in the case of losing a PCM and not having tuners available to 'fix' them..
Bingo...Me too. Subscribed.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 01-31-2013, 05:01 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: east coast
Posts: 842
Thanks: 7
Thanked 26 Times in 23 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave View Post
Why do that when you can do it using a laptop via the obdII port/
I have several obdii monitoring pieces, but I have none capable of writing... Do you have a bead on a software piece that does this?

I've considered yanking a PCM from a shelf and flashing it to my VIN, just to have it 'in case'.. the only problem with that is mileage and features- both which require keys I wouldn't even begin to know how to get...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 02-02-2013, 04:56 AM
Powerstroke Techie

 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,677
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have software to do this, you don't need to physically disassemble anything.

Basically, as I read it, you want to pull a modified file out of your truck so you can unlock your tuner and keep the tunes so you can load them without the tuner?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 02-02-2013, 04:57 AM
Powerstroke Techie

 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,677
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Also - you can't just swap PCM in and out, you need an IDS to do a parameter reset when you do it, so the PATS works, or a matched instrument cluster but that brings the mileage into question also.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 02-02-2013, 06:38 AM
Serving Our Country!

 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Navarre, FL
Posts: 2,496
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Send a message via AIM to f250ghost Send a message via MSN to f250ghost Send a message via Yahoo to f250ghost
Doesn't the H&S MCC software do this? It's my understanding that it's pretty in depth and is similar to the EFI Live tuning on the Dodges and Chevys
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 02-02-2013, 07:19 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: east coast
Posts: 842
Thanks: 7
Thanked 26 Times in 23 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'm in way over my head here, but my notion was to have a spare pcm staged and ready in the case i lose the functioning one... Have them cloned, so to speak.. I don't know how it works, but it would be a nice thing if that were possible.. I'm hoping you fellers can explain how it works and if that cant be done, what can..

Again, its for the sole purpose of a back up, if a tuner is unavailable at that time and if I lose the pcm for whatever reason.. this is something that worries me, because I don't wanna wrestle the coolers or the exhaust, or even have to keep them around.. as I see It now, I don't have much choice but to hold onto them for as long as I own the truck.. which I hope is a long time..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Tags
chiptune, ecu, flash

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors