wastegate questions - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-09-2012, 10:57 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
wastegate questions

This may be a stupid question but I couldn't find anything on it. Why couldn't you just drill and tap a line from the compressor housing on the Turbo to the wastegate and put it there instead of down where the Egr delete goes. Just trying to figure it out since that's how it works on most cars and a cummins or duramax diesel. If you did this would you have to wastegate both turbos or just the big one. I'm assuming putting it down by the Egr effectively limits boost on both turbos.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-10-2012, 07:48 AM

I'm not an expert but its my understanding that the small turbo (high pressure) doesn't have a big enough turbine housing to flow the air generated on a high tune/high rpm so it creates high back pressure. So its not the big turbo creating the high ebp to my knowledge. And i believe its just easier to put a wastegate where the egr cooler was and the size of the wastegate is usually around 40-42mm so the hole you would have to drill would be quite large not to mention you would risk getting metal shavings it the turbo in the process and its pretty tight in there!
Hope this helps
Sent from my SPH-D710 using AutoGuide.Com Free App
Old 12-10-2012, 12:54 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Well, it really doesn't go where the EGR or cooler was/is... maybe I'm just reading that wrong.