Chips to help MPG - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-27-2012, 04:41 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Chips to help MPG

Hi Guys, I am a new 6.4 owner and I want to know whats the best chip to install that will give me better MPG. I am not looking to mess up anything so I want to make sure I get the right one. I have heard somethings about the SCT live wires that they will help me get around 18 MPG. Any ideas?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-27-2012, 04:42 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

You'll really need to get rid of your DPF and DOC, then get a custom tune written for that being removed.
Old 08-27-2012, 04:44 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

I am new to all of this what is the DPF and DOC?
Old 08-27-2012, 04:48 PM

Feedback Score: 13 reviews
Dpf is the particulate filter that catches all the soot and the doc is the catylitic converter. Look at your exhaust and it's the almost foot round can on your exhaust that is a couple feet long.
Old 08-27-2012, 04:52 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Okay.... Thanks for the help since I am new to this the last thing I want to do I mess something up. What do you suggest on doing to replace them? Like a straight pipe of some sort? I thought that if you got rid of some of the filters that it would run like crape? Is this true?
Old 08-27-2012, 05:58 PM

It will if u dont have a tuner for it. H&S Minn Maxx will take care of all the iusses.
Old 08-27-2012, 06:59 PM

as an unloaded daily driver you might be able to up the milage,thats if you are a flatlander...pulling hills all the time diff. story.

pulling a trailer...using extra hp and torque not recommended....egt's get hot real fast.