In Need of Advice for 2008 6.4L F-250 - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-30-2012, 09:36 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
In Need of Advice for 2008 6.4L F-250

Hello to all -

I recently (last Monday to be exact) bought my first diesel truck. I have always grown up around diesel trucks (7.3L) and so when I graduated from college with my engineering degree I knew exactly what I wanted to buy. So then the search started, I found a 2008 6.4L F-250 crew cab with 30,400 miles on and was able to get it for a good price. I have and did a lot of research on the 6.4L engines and the related problems that owners are having with them. So here is my question. I live in the great environmentally controlled state of California and was wondering what people think of tuning these engines with the DPF installed? I am not completely against removing the CAT/DPF and then just reinstalling them when the time comes to smog my truck; I am very mechanically inclined so this doesn't worry me. However what does have me a little concerned is the penalties of being caught with out he CAT/DPF installed. I have lived in California for all of my life and have never seen a smog checkpoint or do I know of someone who has. So what in your opinion would you do if you lived in California and wanted to tune your 6.4L? Tune it, do the deletes, swap it back to stock when needed and say catch me if you can. Or tune it and stay emission compliant?

I apprecaite all the help, I hope I am not beating a dead horse here. I just want this truck to last me.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-31-2012, 03:46 AM
Fueling M.A.D. Everywhere

Feedback Score: 1 reviews