Programmer problem??? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-08-2012, 08:42 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: fremont
Posts: 55
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Programmer problem???

OK, I just sold my 7.3 for a 6.4... its an 08 with 170k truck has lots of power, motor sounds great, and i picked it up cheap, like 13k cheap for a cc, sb, lariat, 4x4 + its show room floor condition! Flip side is, it is blowing a lil white smoke, egr is deleted. I am pretty sure it still has a chip, it blows plenty of black smoke when you get on her. how do i remove a mystery programmer if there is one? can it be done?

Please do not comment if you do not know! dont want an unnecessary scare....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 06-09-2012, 09:19 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Franklin,Tx
Posts: 348
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Dealer reflash and have your tuner of choice.

Sent from my DROID RAZR using AutoGuide.Com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 06-09-2012, 11:23 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: fremont
Posts: 55
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks a lot, have any idea of avg. cost?

Sent from my SPH-D710 using AutoGuide.Com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 06-09-2012, 08:56 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 248
Thanks: 13
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by BB's 250 View Post
Dealer reflash and have your tuner of choice.

Sent from my DROID RAZR using AutoGuide.Com Free App
Wouldn't he have problems getting anywhere if it's deleted and then gets a dealer to flash it?? May run for a while...may not.


Sent from my Autoguide iPhone app
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 06-09-2012, 10:02 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: thompson manitoba
Posts: 307
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
you would have to buy a programmer and bring it with you cuz you would not get far with a stock tune completley deleted.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 06-10-2012, 03:45 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Franklin,Tx
Posts: 348
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by raftdaddy View Post
you would have to buy a programmer and bring it with you cuz you would not get far with a stock tune completley deleted.
Agreed.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 06-10-2012, 05:33 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3,405
Thanks: 3
Thanked 59 Times in 54 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
h&s will load right up as the truck sits right now
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 06-10-2012, 06:50 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: fremont
Posts: 55
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Awesome, wanted H&S anyways!

Sent from my SPH-D710 using AutoGuide.Com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 06-10-2012, 07:23 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 4,240
Thanks: 6
Thanked 39 Times in 38 Posts
Feedback Score: 13 reviews
But doesn't he need a stock tune on there or else the h&s is going to save the current programmed tune and say that it's the "stock" file? I would just take it to the dealer have them reflash it and plug the new tuner in right away after they flash it. It's not like he has a warranty to worry about. If you get your h&s and plan to take it to the dealer, make sure you update it BEFORE you go to the dealer.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 06-10-2012, 07:25 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3,405
Thanks: 3
Thanked 59 Times in 54 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
no, that's not how H&S works

it only looks at your VIN and strategy ID and loads the tune to your truck. When you select to return to stock, it loads it's own version of the factory tune to your truck. It has all the factory tunes already stored in it
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors