Airdog II install ? the electric? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

6.4L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 Old 05-23-2012, 07:22 PM Thread Starter
Premium Member

 
diesel23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 703
Thanks: 3
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 14 reviews
Airdog II install ? the electric?

hey guys ive got my my airdogII installed on the inside of the driverside rail , following instructions to a tee , but the instructions ,look like they mounted it on the outside of the rail even though it says inside , anyway only hold up is the wiring THE RELAY CONTROL LEAD , it says tap attached to the oe fuel pump , In the instructions it has a arrow pointing from the mini fuse tap to the oe pump ,airdogII.pdfdo i attach the mini fuse to the plug or do i actually splice a wire from there to the power wire of the oe pump? - thanks for any help

diesel23 is offline  
post #2 of 7 Old 05-24-2012, 06:51 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Southeast
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Just had mine installed on Monday. Here is my intrepretation of the instructions below, I believe you need to cut the fuse tap completely off and splice the wire into the fuel pump lead. I forget which wire to splice but search the forums and you'll find it.

Also, if you haven't done so already, write the serial number of the pump down now before you install. I forgot to do so and now I have to remove the unit from the bracket in order to get the serial number for the warranty.

6-2. Route the AirDog®II 'Relay activation lead', the Red (+) wire with the mini fuse tap
attached, to the OE fuel pump. Remove the mini fuse tap and splice the relay lead to the OE fuel pump lead.
dgibbs is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 05-24-2012, 09:52 PM Thread Starter
Premium Member

 
diesel23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 703
Thanks: 3
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 14 reviews
dgibbs - thx for input , yes I talked to eric at PTP and the red wire with fuse was cut off and i spliced to power from the oe pump , went super easy after that !!just was un sure , And as for model # LOL i had it installed but was able to take a pic with my camera phone so all good !!!

diesel23 is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 05-25-2012, 02:15 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Eric@PTP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,573
Thanks: 16
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by diesel23 View Post
dgibbs - thx for input , yes I talked to eric at PTP and the red wire with fuse was cut off and i spliced to power from the oe pump , went super easy after that !!just was un sure , And as for model # LOL i had it installed but was able to take a pic with my camera phone so all good !!!
No problem, glad I could be of help to you.
Eric@PTP is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 08-09-2014, 06:26 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
So why do they put a fuse on the power source controller? Can we just put it in the fuse panel where the stock fuel pump fuse is?

I've got it all installed, except the wiring too. And I have to say, not impressed with the directions so far. One or two more explanations of things would have made this job cake.
Rshosted is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 08-09-2014, 06:39 PM
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
 
ZMANN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 15,138
Thanks: 585
Thanked 740 Times in 707 Posts
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Quoted: 671 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
not that this isn't an old post and thing may have changed

but it looks like it has the answer to your ? in the thread
you cut off the AD fuse and wire to the OEM using the OEM fuse

.
.
.
Please donate to DTR Ron's Memorial
https://www.gofundme.com/2464axqr
We Miss you Ronnie
RIP
ZMANN is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 08-09-2014, 07:44 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yeah, it says one can do that, but more specifically if it has a fuse attached it has to be possible... Right? If so which # in the fuse block should/couldn't use?
Rshosted is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome