NO IDEA - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-27-2012, 01:03 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thumbs down NO IDEA

Ok, I'm a newb here... Have an '08 250 4x4 Lariat Crew Cab 6.4, which is my fifth powerstroke so far. I bought it brand new, and have left it BONE stock which is completely out of character for me considering all of my other trucks were modified and customized stem to stern.

I'm absolutely sick and tired of the awful fuel mileage. My 01 7.3 got about 22mpg when dyno tested at 890 ft lbs at the rear wheels running 44's...so the fact that the BEST I've EVER gotten out of my 6.4 was about 18 on an all-interstate trip is TOTALLY RIDICULOUS. General around town I get 15 MAX.

I'm quite privey to performance logic and mechanics, and have done all of the work to my trucks myself in the past.....but I'm not too sure about all this DPF delete pipe and programming, etc... Plus I've been sort of out of the performance loop for a few years. One thing that drives me crazy is how slowly the trans will shift into higher gear to get rpm's down...hell, i've learned to make the dang thing shift with the pedal....ridiculous!

I could ramble on, but to cut to the chase, I need to improve fuel mileage NOW. Can ya'll tell me what specific parts and parts combinations have been proven to work well on the 6.4's?

SCT? AFE? AirRaid? H&S? DPtuner?

Exhaust systems? Intakes? Programmers/tuners?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-27-2012, 01:07 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie