Dumb DPF Question - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 Old 03-29-2011, 06:16 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Dumb DPF Question

Hi

I have an all stock 08 6.4 SCLB an was wondering if a person could take the DPF apart and put a pipe Straight Through, so it would act like a DPF Delete, but still look Factory?

I don 't have a tuner or anything else right now, but plan to get MBRP 5 inch SS from DPF Back, a Mini Max, and a air filter system. I live in Northern Ontario Canada, and the cops here are not very friendly, except for one, (he's my buddy).

Thanks In Advance

..Gord
Gord from Emsdale is offline  
post #2 of 6 Old 03-29-2011, 07:10 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
dazed01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: central texas
Posts: 437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You could use an air hammer with a long chisel bit and it would take you about 30 min to knock the dpf/cat out once you take the exhaust down. It wOrks well from what I hear.
dazed01 is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 03-29-2011, 07:24 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
DSL_PWR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Your mind.. rent free.
Posts: 1,823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Thanks: 4
Thanked 28 Times in 27 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I don't see why you couldn't punch out the filter portion and run a pipe through it. However just installing a delete pipe would free the exhaust from any restriction it might encounter going through a smaller pipe inside the dpf.
DSL_PWR is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 03-29-2011, 08:44 AM
Member
 
jdiesel_us's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Plainfield IN
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I know several people who for inspection reasons have done it. No need to put pipe inside just hollow out the filter media, that way you don't have any more restriction. If you ever need to go in for warrenty stuff you are out of luck because there is no returning to stock that way. Remeber if Ford flashes your ECM while tuned it messes up your tune most have to be sent back to be unlocked. I know on my truck they did not ask they just updated ECM. I was not tuned so no harm but I have had a friend who lost some money over getting reflashed while tuned.
jdiesel_us is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 03-29-2011, 10:46 AM
Member
 
harleysdontbitc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I would say you need a second DPF, that way you could gut the one and then if you need to go in to Ford you could put the stock DPF in and drive in a stock mode until it regenerates. It sounds like a lot of work to me, and also being from Canada I know that the DPF is not a requirement for anything other than warranty. It is not the Law yet up here so why worry about it. Besides unless you put it to the floor it won’t smoke all that much more.

2009 Harley F250
Spartan 210/250 Cat/DPF delete (Rudys )
Icon 2.5 level kit w/ Adjustable Pan Rod Bar
Fuel Hostage w/ /Wrangler MT/R 285/65R20



http://s986.photobucket.com/albums/a...IMG_0238-1.jpg

harleysdontbitc is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 03-29-2011, 04:52 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks guys, I was hoping I could have it look stock and act like all was fine when it goes into the local boys at the Ford stealer, but if I can't do that, then I might as well just get the delete pipe.

If the DPF was cleaned out, how would that affect the computer, wouldn't it just read as if everything was ok? Maybe some day, some electronic wizard will figure out a way to fool the Boys @ Ford.

Thanks again for all the advise, now to figure out which 4 inch lift kit to buy.

..Gord
Gord from Emsdale is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome