Need help with DPF delete - EGT sensor - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-26-2011, 12:44 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 196
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Need help with DPF delete - EGT sensor

My 08 has 40k on it. I had no idea the rust that I could see would things would be this bad. I almost wonder if a previous owner had already removed the DPF and put it back on and overtorqued everything.

After spending a few hours getting the DPF removed, now I cannot for the life of me remove the EGT sensor from the DPF without rounding it. It's been soaked with AeroKroil for the last 4 days, the bung was heated with a propane torch, and I even managed to get a 1/2" flare nut wrench on it. I can see the wrenches opening up as I put torque on it. I can't get a 1/2" box wrench on it because the sensor plug is bigger than that. I've come this >< close to rounding the nut.

I'm sure if there was a dealer open this late on a Saturday they wouldn't have the sensor in stock anyway. Autozone lists one but it's unavailable completely.

I'm looking for advice because I need the truck running tomorrow. It would be a pity to come this far and have to put it all back in again. I'm getting pretty pissed off.

David

Last edited by dgeesaman; 03-26-2011 at 12:50 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-26-2011, 01:09 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: central texas
Posts: 414
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Don't put the sensor in your delete pipe? Is that why you are trying to take it out? Just put a plug in the bung on the new pipe or run a bolt into it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 03-26-2011, 03:00 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 196
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Pipe wrench.

After beginning to round this nut I borrowed the largest pipe wrench I could get on it. With a friend holding the pipe and two hands on the wrench I got it out. Ridiculous, really.

That, plus the fact that the clamp bolt on the back end snapped when I tried to remove it, and the fact that the clamp is welded to the pipe, really gets me worked up. Ford's are the fastest rusting vehicles I've ever owned or worked on.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 03-26-2011, 04:13 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Raiford, Fl.
Posts: 113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I had the same problem with one of my sensors. I got 2 outta 3 and just said screw it!! The truck ran fine but I started getting codes. FYI, Autozone, Discount, O'Reilys does not carry these sensors. You have to get it from Ford. It was around $30.00. I pluggged the new one in, re-set everything and had no more codes or issues.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 03-26-2011, 04:37 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Sacarmento CA
Posts: 859
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I had the back sensor go bad. The Ford tech could not remove it. Got a new DPF out of the deal.

If you are running a H&S or recent Spartan, you should not have to use the sensors.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 03-26-2011, 04:50 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Raiford, Fl.
Posts: 113
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by pyro2nite View Post
I had the back sensor go bad. The Ford tech could not remove it. Got a new DPF out of the deal.

If you are running a H&S or recent Spartan, you should not have to use the sensors.
I have the SCT with the Diamond Eye DPF delete. The bung holes were there so I transferred the sensors over. I'm pretty sure my set up requires the sensors but am not 100%. Could I have just capped them off??
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 03-28-2011, 07:33 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Plainfield IN
Posts: 71
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I am pretty sure all SCT tuning requires the sensors. I know for a fact that IDP's tuning does.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 03-28-2011, 09:04 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Branson, Missouri
Posts: 296
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by dgeesaman View Post
......Ford's are the fastest rusting vehicles I've ever owned or worked on.
So you're saying you never owned a Chevy????
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 03-29-2011, 06:13 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 184
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by pyro2nite View Post
I had the back sensor go bad. The Ford tech could not remove it. Got a new DPF out of the deal.

If you are running a H&S or recent Spartan, you should not have to use the sensors.
so if i get a H&S mini i dont have to have the sensors?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 03-29-2011, 07:10 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Sacarmento CA
Posts: 859
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by colt45 View Post
so if i get a H&S mini i dont have to have the sensors?
That would be correct
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors