F450 King Ranch better fuel mileage - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-19-2011, 10:08 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
F450 King Ranch better fuel mileage

I am new to Fords from Chevrolet and I must say, I think that this F450 is leaps and bounds above my chev when it comes to build and being heavy duty. I tow a lot of heavy stuff including my excavator, dozer, job trailers and even 5th wheel camper and snowmobile trailers on the recreational side. This truck seems like it will tow it all. The only thing I'm not happy with is the fuel mileage but I knew that coming into this. I dont really care while I am towing but I would like to see a little better when not towing if I could. I have done some searching around on here but I was just wondering what I should do to get a little better if I could, fuel is getting expensive in NY! Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-20-2011, 12:55 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic

The 4.88 gears are killing me...26/2700 rpm at 70 is not helping fuel economy. I average about 7mpg...

I'm gonna watch this thread for ideas. I'm wondering about an over drive or something to reduce the gearing...basically with a load it costs me about 50 cent a mile just in fuel to drive my truck...its sad cause I absolutely love everything else about the truck.

mac 'will tow your house' gyvr
Old 02-20-2011, 07:32 AM
IBEW Journeyman Lineman

Feedback Score: 2 reviews