Inexpensive programmers - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-29-2011, 06:16 PM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Inexpensive programmers

I own a 2008 6.4l and recently was looking on ebay and came across a few inexpensive programmers one called mindblower, and the other called powermax. I have no experience with programmers and am not sure what to look for. They are simply plug in programmer and advertised hp and tq gains. I am just wondering if these really do anything, and if they are safe. I have my doubts and will likely go a different route, but for the prices they advertised if anyone has used one of these or has any info on them it would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-29-2011, 06:33 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

You get what you pay for is all im gonna say. A 20$ programmer from ebay could turn into an 18,000 crate engine.
Old 01-29-2011, 06:38 PM

Yeah I an thinking that but it never hurts to ask you never know.
Old 01-29-2011, 07:23 PM

I would be concerned putting something like that on my truck, I would stick with Spartan, H&S, or SCT.
Old 01-29-2011, 08:06 PM

of the three which would you guys recommend as best band for the buck? I still have the DPF and don't want to risk removing it because the authorities are not particularly fond of me as it is, and they would likely hassle me on it.
Old 01-30-2011, 10:26 AM

In my honest opinion, if you are not going to delete the dpf I wouldnt bother with it. specially if you are still under warranty.

But, if you are not under warranty and want a little bump in power, the best bang for the buck will be the sct or the H&S XRT. I love my H&S product and would recommend them to anyone.
Old 01-30-2011, 10:34 AM