AFE stage 2 engine light? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old 01-23-2011, 01:31 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 53
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
AFE stage 2 engine light?

Hey guys, I am fairly new to this forum and the 6.4 for that matter. I just put my first mod on last night. AFE stage 2 air intake . I drove it last night and could notice the power difference and also the sound I have been waiting for. On my way to work today the check engine light came on, Is this somthing that the truck computer will fix itself, or do I need to do something? Any help would be appericated.
purdy08 Stroker is offline  
post #2 of 9 Old 01-23-2011, 02:54 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 53
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Anything guys?
purdy08 Stroker is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 01-23-2011, 03:06 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
2003kingranch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: IOWA
Posts: 2,542
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to 2003kingranch
well a tuner would solve your prob. and get some more power!!!!!!!!!! also have to do exhaust if you want big tunes. this is when the power craze will set in good luck

[/URL]

[CENTER]2012 King Ranch
22k deleted at 1k
5" FLO-PRO
S&B Intake
Sinister Egr Delete
MiniMax/ SPE Tunes
466/953 on 37's
6" 4 link
37's on 22's
Bags and compressor
RBP mudflaps
transfer tank tool box.
9" 2" poly boss v blade
Should have kept my 6.0.....
2003kingranch is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 01-23-2011, 03:08 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 53
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
That is what I'm working towards, but for now I am stock. is there anything I can do
(stock) and keep the AFE on, but get rid of the light?
purdy08 Stroker is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 01-23-2011, 03:29 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 121
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Have you been able to determine what the code was? I have the same setup and after a regen, it throws a P2002 regularly (engine light on). Eventually it quits throwing the code.

I was told this code had to do with an aftermarket CAI.

2015 F250 Lariat SD FX4
6" Rough Country Lift
20" XD Series Wheels
37" Nitto Trail Grapler M/T
Stock

2008 F250 Super Duty 4X4
6" Pro Comp Lift
Pro Comp 6001 Wheels
Nitto 37" Terra Graplers
4" dpf/cat delete w/MBRP
SCT Tuner - Performance Tune
bsudkamp is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 01-23-2011, 03:46 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 53
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have not had time to check the code yet, It came on, on my way to work and I am still here. I do not have a tuner. Where do you go to get the code checked?
purdy08 Stroker is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 01-23-2011, 04:16 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 121
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have an Edge Insight always plugged into the OBD port. I would believe any repair shop could tell you the code. Perhaps even a local auto parts store. Good luck.

2015 F250 Lariat SD FX4
6" Rough Country Lift
20" XD Series Wheels
37" Nitto Trail Grapler M/T
Stock

2008 F250 Super Duty 4X4
6" Pro Comp Lift
Pro Comp 6001 Wheels
Nitto 37" Terra Graplers
4" dpf/cat delete w/MBRP
SCT Tuner - Performance Tune
bsudkamp is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 01-23-2011, 04:46 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
dazed01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: central texas
Posts: 437
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
did you install it correctly? I have several thousand miles on mine and have had no issues at all.
dazed01 is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 01-23-2011, 04:49 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 53
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Did exactly everything by the instructions from AFE. ??? I wonder if the computer will get used to the extra airflow and turn the light off? I know on my 7.3 if I changet the settings on my chip the cel came on until the truck got used to it.
purdy08 Stroker is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome