Anyone use a Turbo Cooldown Timer? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-30-2010, 08:53 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Anyone use a Turbo Cooldown Timer?

Thinking of installing a Turbo Cooldown Timer (specifically a BD Diesel 1081160) on my truck (2008 F550 4x4, 6.4L, SCT Livewire, DPF Delete). I do quite a bit of heavy hauling and rack up the miles as well just driving to work. Anyone out there have one on their truck, and if so, any comments (ease of installation, pros, cons, etc...)? Thanks...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 10-30-2010, 08:56 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 285
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I have one as part of my Viper alarm. Love it, but had it installed so I can not comment on the ease of installation. I got tired of sitting there waiting for the turbo to cool and now engauge the turbo timer, pull out the key and walk away while arming the alarm!! Truck shuts off in 3 minutes.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 10-30-2010, 08:57 AM
Other vehicle is an F250
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: N. Pickens County S.C.
Posts: 18,324
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
He's working right now, but PM Mike (Mudrunningpig). He has one. At least he has something that accomplishes the same thing. Tell him Hank sent you.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 10-31-2010, 06:45 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 441
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Duffie112
is there a remote starter that does this? i want a remote start and a turbo timer but cant find one that does both?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 10-31-2010, 11:54 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Posts: 2,065
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to blackcloud2k Send a message via Yahoo to blackcloud2k
I wish there was a way to have this programed into the Spartan, H&S, ect. It would be really handy to have it all in one unit.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 11-03-2010, 09:58 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks everyone. I'm ordering the BD Diesel Cooldown Timer (#1081160) today, I'll let you know how easy it was to install and how it works...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 11-03-2010, 06:22 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 296
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have the viper 5901. It is a remote start and also has a adjustable turbo timer on it.
Reasonably easy to install but I did car stereo for years in college.
And better yet it has a 2way remote control that works from a mile away.
When I get up from my desk to go home I start it and 2 minutes later or so when I get to the truck it's already warming up.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 11-03-2010, 06:28 PM
My 6OH Hates Me


 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Nexus of the Universe
Posts: 24,702
Thanks: 8
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
ya I have one, bought mine from dieselsite. very easy to install and works great
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 11-04-2010, 04:43 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Fairlawn, Va
Posts: 443
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
If your just running short trips would cool down even be neccessary? Also does the remote start allow for glow plug running?

Last edited by Chasin' Tail; 11-04-2010 at 04:46 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 11-04-2010, 09:51 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ogden, Utah
Posts: 764
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
yes it does mine has like a 30 sec delay before it will start
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors