Power loss at WOT - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-28-2010, 07:10 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Power loss at WOT

I run the Spartan 250 all the time. I am a pretty mellow driver, looking for mileage mostly, but on a rare occasion like to put the heel to the steel. I noticed the other day (and several times prior) that once I floor it, it runs badass for a bit, and then has this noticable loss in power for half a second, then usually takes off again. It is defueling? Is the HPFP not feeding it enough? I used to have a Bullydog PMT while I still had the DPF and CAT, and its a similar feeling to when it was Defueling (Bullydog had a message that said "DEFUELING" when it was actually happening)

I was under the impression that the 250 tune didn't have any safety parameters built in. If so, that's OK I guess, but I just want to know if something is F-ed up with the truck.

Should I make a log file or something to see what's happening with fuel commands and hpfp pressure?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-28-2010, 08:45 AM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor

There are no safety parameters set in to the 250 tune. Is this something you are feeling on top end, or going through the gears?
Old 10-28-2010, 09:41 AM

Going through the gears I think. Surely not at top speed. But it doesn't feel like transmission. It definetly feels like I let off the accelerator slightly, then resume. I'd call it a hiccup, or a stutter.
Old 10-28-2010, 10:30 AM