dyno "how to question" - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-05-2010, 07:45 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
dyno "how to question"

how do you guys dyno your trucks? i am big into cars as i own a 07 shelby and have unlimited access to a dynojet dyno. i have been wanting to dyno my truck but i was told that the dyno needs to be loaded, we have load control on our dyno but it is not working right now due to a bad load cell, we haven't really ever used it as most of the cars we dyno don't really need it. i have always thought that the dyno would need to be loaded in order to really get the turbo spooled and something to "fight" against to get the right numbers. let me know how others have done it so i know what i need to do to dyno my truck.

also do you "have" to have a dyno tune or can you just run it in 5th (which i thought was the dyno gear anyway)

thanks
brandon
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 10-05-2010, 08:15 AM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor



 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 8,615
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You don't have to run a "dyno" tune, but if you have one then I would run that. You want the converter locked up when you dyno. The dynojet I have always had my truck dynoed on gives about 40% load with the big drums that it uses. I don't think that is enough for these trucks though. I only make 35-39 lbs of boost, which hurts peak power on tunes where I make 45-50 on the street.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 10-05-2010, 10:36 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: College Station or the panhandle
Posts: 5,208
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 08stroker250 View Post
You don't have to run a "dyno" tune, but if you have one then I would run that. You want the converter locked up when you dyno. The dynojet I have always had my truck dynoed on gives about 40% load with the big drums that it uses. I don't think that is enough for these trucks though. I only make 35-39 lbs of boost, which hurts peak power on tunes where I make 45-50 on the street.
how do you know you are hitting 45-50 psi on the streets? is there a way to monitor boost on the spartan? i've just never found it. i just always see my boost gauge on the truck peg out..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 10-05-2010, 10:40 AM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor



 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 8,615
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 08spartan250 View Post
how do you know you are hitting 45-50 psi on the streets? is there a way to monitor boost on the spartan? i've just never found it. i just always see my boost gauge on the truck peg out..
Manifold Gauge Pressure = Boost
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 10-05-2010, 02:31 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vienna, Maine
Posts: 108
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I hope to run my truck this month on a dyno with the 310, would I run that in drive or a lower gear? I know with the 310 my converter locks about 45 mph on the street would that be the same on a dyno? I would think it would be the same. They say the dyno im going to run on is pretty conservative and hard to get big numbers so it will be interesting.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 10-05-2010, 02:44 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: WNY
Posts: 208
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Couldn't you brake boost to build some PSI?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 10-05-2010, 04:02 PM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor



 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 8,615
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snappy View Post
I hope to run my truck this month on a dyno with the 310, would I run that in drive or a lower gear? I know with the 310 my converter locks about 45 mph on the street would that be the same on a dyno? I would think it would be the same. They say the dyno im going to run on is pretty conservative and hard to get big numbers so it will be interesting.
The truck needs to be at least around 65 mph so it doesn't downshift.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kuntryquesttsi View Post
Couldn't you brake boost to build some PSI?
It doesn't work on these trucks. We tried it this weekend. The horsepower numbers actually went down. Typically that works for trucks running a big single or a nice big set of twins.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 10-05-2010, 04:39 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vienna, Maine
Posts: 108
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Cool thanks I'm anxious to see what it will run
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 10-05-2010, 07:52 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: College Station or the panhandle
Posts: 5,208
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
awesome. thanks man. i knew it had to be on there. sometimes i'm just a
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 10-06-2010, 11:57 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
thanks for the help guys, i guess we will just have to have the load control function fixed to get accurate numbers, has anyone done a loaded then unloaded dyno to see the difference?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors