tranny slip Spartan - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

6.4L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 Old 07-20-2010, 08:42 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
JBB66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dallas
Posts: 52
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
tranny slip Spartan

Hey guys,

Have the Spartan setup with CAT/DPF Delete (250,275,310)... love it.

How long should it take to do the relearn on the bigger tunes... to where I wouldn't see tranny slip after I get up to speed (70-75) and wot on TC lockup?

If I do have a problem with the tranny, is the torque converter the issue (being the slip)?

Suncoast torque converter the way to go? And what else? Trying to narrow down what I need to do to get the truck up and running 100% again.

Thanks in advance for the replys.
JBB66 is offline  
post #2 of 12 Old 07-21-2010, 09:13 AM
Compression Ignition Addict


 
08stroker250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 8,819
Thanks: 5
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
How much slip are you seeing on the DashDAQ with the converter locked?

Jeff Dodd
spartan_jeff12@yahoo.com

2012 Ford F-250 Lariat CC/SB

Mods - Spartan tuned via laptop, 4" AFE stainless exhaust system, 2.5" PMF BMC leveling spacers, 3" PMF lift blocks, Fox Racing 2.0 shocks, Recon smoked mirror & cab lights
08stroker250 is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 07-21-2010, 10:04 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
JBB66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dallas
Posts: 52
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Went into 1000s - when punched around 70.

Will it do that initially during relearn process? I backed off loaded lower tune... I've noticed it seems to not down shift every now and then like it should.
JBB66 is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 07-21-2010, 10:06 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
JBB66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dallas
Posts: 52
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It seems to unlock then locks after after 1 or 2 sec.... That was on the 250.
JBB66 is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 07-21-2010, 10:10 AM
Compression Ignition Addict


 
08stroker250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 8,819
Thanks: 5
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The 250 tune will unlock fairly easily below a certain RPM. With my 3.73 gears, I have to be above 72 mph to keep it locked when I hammer it. If you're seeing 1,000 RPM of slip, your converter is not locked. You won't see that with the 275 or 310 tune.

Jeff Dodd
spartan_jeff12@yahoo.com

2012 Ford F-250 Lariat CC/SB

Mods - Spartan tuned via laptop, 4" AFE stainless exhaust system, 2.5" PMF BMC leveling spacers, 3" PMF lift blocks, Fox Racing 2.0 shocks, Recon smoked mirror & cab lights
08stroker250 is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 07-21-2010, 10:20 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
JBB66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dallas
Posts: 52
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
My truck is 2008 job 3 with long bed and 3.73 gears.

I'll load up 250 again and see what happens.

How much will a suncoast tq converter cost ?
JBB66 is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 07-21-2010, 10:25 AM
Compression Ignition Addict


 
08stroker250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 8,819
Thanks: 5
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by JBB66 View Post
My truck is 2008 job 3 with long bed and 3.73 gears.

I'll load up 250 again and see what happens.

How much will a suncoast tq converter cost ?
Get it up to about 75 mph before you put the pedal to the floor.

As for the Suncoast converter, it is $1295.00. I don't think you need one though. You saw that slip because the converter unlocked, which is normal with the 250 tune.

Jeff Dodd
spartan_jeff12@yahoo.com

2012 Ford F-250 Lariat CC/SB

Mods - Spartan tuned via laptop, 4" AFE stainless exhaust system, 2.5" PMF BMC leveling spacers, 3" PMF lift blocks, Fox Racing 2.0 shocks, Recon smoked mirror & cab lights
08stroker250 is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 07-21-2010, 10:39 AM
Dually Dog
 
Stanley F350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 192
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Jeff can you explain a little more about the converter lock up? I am running the 275 and love it, when at easy throttle it shifts a little hard coming out of 1st gear. after the gear change does that mean the converter is locked? The more I drive the better it seems when shifting but still slips now and then when hammered from take off. Maybe axle wrap? Do I need traction bars?
Stanley F350 is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 07-21-2010, 11:50 AM
Compression Ignition Addict


 
08stroker250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 8,819
Thanks: 5
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
With the 275 tune, the converter typically will lock up at 45 mph. Depending on throttle position, it can lock up a little later, but never higher than 50 mph. You can monitor what your converter is doing with a parameter under the generic OBD parameters. I think it's tqslip(rpm) or something close to that. I can't remember for sure.

Jeff Dodd
spartan_jeff12@yahoo.com

2012 Ford F-250 Lariat CC/SB

Mods - Spartan tuned via laptop, 4" AFE stainless exhaust system, 2.5" PMF BMC leveling spacers, 3" PMF lift blocks, Fox Racing 2.0 shocks, Recon smoked mirror & cab lights
08stroker250 is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 07-21-2010, 01:50 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
JBB66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dallas
Posts: 52
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Jeff I went back out with 150 tune and figured it doesn't lock converter in until 80mph. 70 or 75 seems to downshift... About normal? When locked it was in ranges under 5.

What kind of rpms should I see on take off up to say 75 mph... I see in 1000-slightly under 1100rpm on slip guage?

Thanks for your help Jeff.
JBB66 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome