used spartan tuner - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-21-2010, 02:58 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Marysville, Wa
Posts: 1,274
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via MSN to Dusten
used spartan tuner

Can someone from spartan, a dealer or someone who has bought one tell me what is required to run a USED tuner? I am referring to what is required to be done to the tuner itself, not what parts are needed. IE, original truck retuned to stock... stuff like that.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 04-21-2010, 05:30 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Nederland, TX
Posts: 244
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'm sure someone who knows better than me will chime in, but I think I remember reading you have to buy a new license from Spartan.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 04-21-2010, 05:35 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Potsdam, NY
Posts: 221
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yes, you need to buy a VIN reset from Spartan. I had to get the reset for mine which is pretty simple to program into the tuner when I wrecked my truck and got a new one.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 04-21-2010, 05:49 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Marysville, Wa
Posts: 1,274
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via MSN to Dusten
thats kind of ****ty, most tuners just require the truck to be set back to stock to be re-used.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 04-21-2010, 07:12 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Syracuse UT/Rexburg, ID
Posts: 165
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yep and I remember thinking how stupid my SCT was on my 05 which allowed 5 Vin changes before it locked.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 04-22-2010, 12:23 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Winters, Texas...
Posts: 679
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Id like to buy a used Spartan in the future. Thinking it might be a little to complicated for me though..... IDK we'll see.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 04-22-2010, 01:42 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 150
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dusten View Post
Can someone from spartan, a dealer or someone who has bought one tell me what is required to run a USED tuner? I am referring to what is required to be done to the tuner itself, not what parts are needed. IE, original truck retuned to stock... stuff like that.
If the tuner is a strategy flasher and the original truck that it was used on was returned to stock, it will work on the new truck. If it is one of the older tuners with VIN specific files, you will need to buy a new license to get the new files.

Nutty
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 04-22-2010, 02:08 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Shelley, ID
Posts: 92
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It seems like there are a lot of conflicting stories on this. I seem to remember the guys from Spartan on here saying that even the strategy flash tuners would require the purchase of a new license. I've got a strategy flash tuner I'm considering selling with all the tunes through 310HP. The price I ask will vary by $325 depending on whether or not the new owner has to buy a license.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 04-22-2010, 03:07 PM
MGM MGM is offline
Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
As far as I can tell, you will have to have them unlock the tuner for $325, that is if they verify the originally tuned truck has been returned to stock. Personally after paying for the most expensive tuner I think they should allow you to at least re-program it once but they didn't ask me.

Oh btw I have a 2 month old one for sale if anyone is interested.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 04-22-2010, 03:23 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 831
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
MGM,

Do you have a pipe for sale as well? DPF & DOC?

Please PM me with a price shipped to 78645

Thanks,
Mark
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors