SCT LiveWire Extreme - Truck Reports False MPG?? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-13-2010, 11:28 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to haywired
Question SCT LiveWire Extreme - Truck Reports False MPG??

I haven't seen this anywhere on this forum yet, so I decided to start a new thread. Hopefully some of you SCT owners out there can give me some insight...

First off, I have a 2008 F-250 6.4L Crew Cab, TorqShift Tranny and 3.73 gears on factory 20" wheels with factory tires.

I recently purchased a flo-pro 4" downpipe-back exhaust kit and SCT Livewire tuner from DPFDeleteKits.com. I already had installed an Airaid intake kit before hand. Installation of exhaust kit and tuning of the truck was simple.

I tuned the truck with the "Pre-loaded" Extreme tune, using the agressive shift option, and made no adjustments to the WOT transmission shift points.

Upon driving the truck around (about 70% city, averaging 20 or so through town, and about 30% highway, averaging around 50-60), I am seeing 18-19 MPG on the information center. I was extremely pleased to see this, being nearly a 100% increase in mileage from before. However, I started realizing that I was only getting around 350 miles per tank on fillups, filling up to around 26 gallons each time. This gives me around 13.5 MPG - which confuses me.

To test, I have attempted to tune the truck a number of different ways:
Extreme + Stock Trans
Performance + Agressive Trans
Performance + Stock Trans
Tow + Stock Trans

My results tell me that the "Extreme" tune is somehow fooling the computer into reporting a much higher MPG, since Performance and Tow modes report accurate MPG (I am seeing about 12.5 MPG using either tune under similar driving conditions). So, yes, Extreme mode is getting the best MPG - but it's reporting it entirely too high on the Information Center...

Please tell me someone else has seen this with the LiveWire?

Last edited by haywired; 04-13-2010 at 11:35 AM. Reason: Add MPG info
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 04-13-2010, 11:42 AM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor



 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 8,758
Thanks: 4
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
This is why its coined the "lie-o-meter" by the majority of Ford Super Duty owners. You have to hand calculate to get an accurate fuel economy reading.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 04-13-2010, 11:55 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to haywired
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff@CDP View Post
This is why its coined the "lie-o-meter" by the majority of Ford Super Duty owners. You have to hand calculate to get an accurate fuel economy reading.
Agreed, and I usually do, but why in the world would it only do this with one tune and not with the others?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 04-13-2010, 12:14 PM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor



 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 8,758
Thanks: 4
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by haywired View Post
Agreed, and I usually do, but why in the world would it only do this with one tune and not with the others?
I have heard people say the same thing about certain Spartan tunes, some are more accurate with the truck display than others. I can't give you an answer. The only people that can are the people who make the tunes.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 04-13-2010, 01:11 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 57
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
My dad has a 2008 F-350 King ranch with the same exhaust as you, but MBRP duals coming off the muffler, True Flow intake, stock 20s with 3.73s, Spartan Tuned running the 210, and his Lie-o-meter says 16 on the highway, but it is not accurate at all. He gets less than that.

I wonder if its something to do with the stock 20s that come on the king ranch? I always thought the meters read less than the truck was actually getting.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 04-13-2010, 02:05 PM
Warheads on Foreheads
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Houghton, LA
Posts: 1,807
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
like said above, nothing wrong with your truck, computer lie-o-meter is pointless tuned or stock.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 04-13-2010, 03:07 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Quakertown, Pa
Posts: 88
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ironically, I've just realized this within the last week or so as well. Here I've been all proud that I went from 13 mpg's to 18 with the tuner and delete, but when I hand calc'ed the mileage the last two tanks were spot on 13.5... Where's my increase? I never even looked at the actual miles on the tripometer, just watched the avg. on the dash float between 18 and 19 mpg's. I was down with temporarily voiding my warrenty for 5mpg's, but not for a half a mile per gallon! Never even tried the other canned tunes or shifts, should I saty on the extreme?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 04-17-2010, 06:59 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 53
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Iv had a livewire xtreme tune running about 5 weeks now. DOC/DPF delete. 08 job3 4x4 CC 20" stock. hand calc is now; hwy:15.5-17, hwy lie meter reads 21.2 but subtract about 5-6 mpgs... mixed: 13.5. Before my dash read 10.5 this winter now it reads 15.5 mixed; hand calc is 13.5 consistently. hand calc bfore was like 9.8. Summary; im seeing about 3.5mpg improvement. Odd thing is i expected to see a little better improvement on hwy. BUT i would say the winter blend diesel is still in the supply chain so by June will have better data to compare to last summers numbers. Fueling up: as you know the diesel foams so once it clicks off I always put 3 more gals in which usually brings it up in the neck. im trying to stay consistent on this so im comparing apples to apples as much as possible.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 09-19-2010, 07:25 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to haywired
Update on my current situation: I installed EGR block plates and turned on that option on the SCT tuner. I went to Florida and back, and my average was 15.6mpg. This was 70mph average. I am really upset now -- I used to get upwards of 20mpg on my 6.0 and I fully expected to get at least that good with the 6.4.

I'm thinking about changing to Spartan...any other ideas?

By the way, the reason I did the block plates is because the truck was smoking excessively and running very "dirty" (sluggish acceleration unless I absolutely floored it, constant stream of black smoke on moderate acceleration, and the engine didn't sound as smooth as it usually did). Since putting in the plates, my overall power (particularly low boost) is much improved, the motor runs much cleaner, and the truck only smokes on the initial take off, as I would normally expect. However, I still see no improvement in MPG!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 09-20-2010, 04:32 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Plainville, MA
Posts: 275
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Cool Tire size in tune?

The first thing I would do is check that your odometer is correct with the tunes. Either drive somewhere that you know the exact mileage for or, like I did, compare the odometer to a GPS if you have access to one. Those satellites are mostly Military and very, very accurate! Within each tune on an SCT, there's a setting for either "Tire Diameter" or "Revolutions per Mile" - if that's off in a particular tune, it will just accentuate the "Lie-o-Meter's" error. Hope this helps.

I had an SCT Livewire and now run their TSX tuner which, BTW has no way to change the tire size? The Livewire does!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors