Tuning options - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-15-2010, 06:48 PM
Now I'm Strokin6.4Liters
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Johnson City, TN
Posts: 2,431
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 8 reviews
Tuning options

are there any options for tuners for the 6.4 that are adjustable on the run like the DP tuner or the edge? Because I love my SCT but I wish I could change it on the fly
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 02-15-2010, 06:51 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yes the H&S Black Maxx is adjustable on the fly. Thats what I have on my truck and absolutely love it!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 02-15-2010, 06:52 PM
Now I'm Strokin6.4Liters
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Johnson City, TN
Posts: 2,431
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 8 reviews
How does H&S compare to Spartan and SCT?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 02-15-2010, 06:53 PM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor

 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ventura County, CA
Posts: 20,361
Thanks: 23
Thanked 23 Times in 14 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Raul@Stealth Automotive
H&S has a very good product... its very closely matched with spartan...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 02-15-2010, 06:54 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
That I can't tell you. All I have ever had on my truck is the Black Maxx. The guys at H & S are top notch. They go out of there way to answers questions and help you.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 02-15-2010, 07:03 PM
Now I'm Strokin6.4Liters
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Johnson City, TN
Posts: 2,431
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 8 reviews
What are the prices on them because i'm thinking about getting a 6.4
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 02-15-2010, 07:16 PM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor



 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 8,758
Thanks: 4
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
PM Sent!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 02-16-2010, 03:29 AM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chaplin, CT
Posts: 828
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I would suggest the Spartan for a 6.4. The changing of power levels on the fly is a nice feature, but the transmssion has a very " adaptive" learning process that needs to relearn when power levels are changed. Not knowing a great deal about the programming inside the H+S, but know the 5R110 tranny, I can't see how constant changes in hp levels can be good for the transmission. Time will tell if the H+S is going to be for the 5R110 tranny in these trucks. The device and programming seem to be right up with the Spartan. I would just suggest if running the H+S, don't change the power levels without letting the transmission relearn after the power change. We have all three available SCT(I would suggest running Innovative preloaded tuning/we have them preloaded and ready to ship),Spartan, and H+S let Aaron or I know if we can help you.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 02-16-2010, 03:38 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 1,128
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
^^^That is what was the deciding factor for me and I don't know near as much about these trucks as Sean. I mean we're talking about being able to add over 250hp and ungodly amounts of torque to your truck. Are you sure you wanna be able to flip a switch and not give your truck the abilty to learn. Think about it, if you update a driver or anything on your computer your on right now it takes a while and usually needs to restart to be able to process the new info. Makes sense to me.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 02-16-2010, 06:37 AM
Now I'm Strokin6.4Liters
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Johnson City, TN
Posts: 2,431
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 8 reviews
Well the transmission doesn't bother me because if I buy one it will have a 6speed in it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors