Job 1 and spartan tuner!!! - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-03-2010, 04:50 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chambersburg PA
Posts: 528
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to skipnay
Job 1 and spartan tuner!!!

I'm looking at this kit.....

Phalanx Flash Console w/12 custom tunes above, Spartan DPF/CAT (DOC), S&B Cold Air Intake Kit. INCLUDES +275HP and +310HP Nutty Professor Tune. A $400.00 bonus!! Our most popular and recommended package. Comes complete with the Phalanx Console, 12 standard custom tunes, Spartan DPF/CAT(DOC), an S&B Cold Air Intake, AND both the 275HP and 310HP Race tunes!
+ + +

*NOTE: Off road use ONLY

Product : phlxnuttypkg | Phalanx Flash Console w/14 custom tunes , Spartan DPF/CAT


Ok my truck is one of the first ones it was built like 2 or 3 of 2007. It actually doesn't have the job listing on the window sticker that is how old it is. So what kind of problems am I going to have? I want to know up front before I decide to deffinately buy a set up. I know someone was saying about having problems with the job 1. So what is the problem? Also I have had just about every update for the last year and a half just about every 4 months. My last update was around thanksgiving. Thinking about getting another one done soon....


Also can I get prices of this kit shipped to my door. 17201 is my zip
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 02-03-2010, 05:52 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Hendersonville, NC
Posts: 574
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Only problem for job 1 08 trucks is the 210 tow tune. Just use the regular 210 tune till we get it fixed...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 02-03-2010, 06:30 PM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor



 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 8,725
Thanks: 3
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Job 1 trucks do not like the 310 tune very much. If you plan on running the 310 tune, I would suggest getting the Spartan TCM upgrade. It is very much worth the money. Don't worry about getting an update on your truck if your going to buy a tuner. The update won't be needed.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 02-03-2010, 08:54 PM
Diesel Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Saskatoon
Posts: 380
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via MSN to CanuckF350
Jeff
I am considering a Spartan but would only be running the 12 tunes package up to 250hp. My ride is a Job 1 also. Do you recommend the TCM upgrade for this as well?
Thanks for any input.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 02-03-2010, 09:13 PM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor



 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 8,725
Thanks: 3
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
No, the 250 tune and under would be perfectly fine with a stock Job 1 TCM. I drove my truck with the stock Job 1 TCM for thousands and thousands of miles with the 275 tune. No quite sure exactly, but its over 20,000 miles. I just don't recommend the 310 tune, and neither does Spartan and most other vendors on here.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 02-04-2010, 04:03 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Temple
Posts: 85
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I've been running the standard 210 on my Job 1 for over a year with zero issues. Mine is also one of the first built, bought early February 2007.

Last edited by jason1168tx; 02-04-2010 at 04:04 AM. Reason: Addition
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 02-04-2010, 04:19 AM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chaplin, CT
Posts: 828
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
These Job 1 trucks actually started being built in 2006! I have a F450 that is a Job 1 05/07 and I, like Jeff, ran the 275 tune without a TCM for some time. I just wouldn't run the 310 without the TCM. The TCM does help the Job 1's a great deal if you can swing the cost.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 02-04-2010, 04:25 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: St. Lucie/Martin County Florida
Posts: 162
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ive also been running the 275 tune with my job 1 for about 25k miles and absolutely no problems whatsoever....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 02-04-2010, 05:21 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 132
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have a Job 1 truck as well. Would the package listed above be a good one, plus the TCM? I am looking at getting a package deal. If not would someone please tell me what works the best for the job 1 trucks ( if you were going to do it). Thanks, Not trying to swipe your post skipnay.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 02-04-2010, 06:06 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chambersburg PA
Posts: 528
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to skipnay
Quote:
Originally Posted by Remi19 View Post
I have a Job 1 truck as well. Would the package listed above be a good one, plus the TCM? I am looking at getting a package deal. If not would someone please tell me what works the best for the job 1 trucks ( if you were going to do it). Thanks, Not trying to swipe your post skipnay.
I'm just like you, if your getting that mad at someone asking a like question in someones thread and you get mad maybe you shouldn't be on the internet its all good.... Like I said mine was built early of 2007.... The TCM is what? I search it and its coming up with nothing...


UPDATE:

Found out what the TCM is how hard is it to hook up? Do I have to take the tranny out?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors