Which tuner to go with on F450 - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-17-2010, 09:04 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 251
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Which tuner to go with on F450

Do any of the tuner's change the tire size and gear ratio to get the accurate speed on the truck speedometer? Or do they all just change the speed on the tuners monitor? Im wondering which tuner to go with that would work out best. I need to delete the dpf also. I called H&S performance and they currently just change it on there screen. Do any of the tuners change it on the truck itself? Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 01-17-2010, 09:21 PM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor



 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 8,752
Thanks: 3
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Spartan can change it through tuning, but they charge a little fee for it. They are waiting on DrewTech to come out with an update for the DashDAQ to correct tire size.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 01-17-2010, 09:58 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 251
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks for the info. That's great!!! Looks like Spartan it is!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 01-17-2010, 11:37 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 49
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
yeah an that apartan will make a 6.4 do some wicked things... not sure about how a 450 stands up performance wise tho... I have a 99 F450 with a 7.3 an a flatbed. its my pasture truck/wrok truck. but honestly with my few mods on my F350 it pulls better than my F450 and it gets way better milage
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 01-18-2010, 02:15 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 251
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I was reading more about the Spartan phalenx and I think it will work perfect. It says you can tune two trucks with one tuner. We have two 6.4's so this thing should be everything we need. We'll, plus the custom tunes.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 01-18-2010, 03:50 AM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chaplin, CT
Posts: 828
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
My F450 has always run the biggest Spartan tunes, we even got the 9750lbs truck to go 13.9 at the track. I did put studs and new update gaskets to prevent any problems, but running up to a 275 and even towing some heavy weight was no issue at all. It would be a wise choice for your F450 also, you won't be sorry!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 01-18-2010, 03:28 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,084
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have had Edge Platinum with Attitude Module, SuperChips, and SCT with Custom Tunes, and EFI Live..... On other vehicles in out Fleet...

With Research, On my new 09 F-450 I am going Spartan 210 Tow, DPF Delete, downpipe back exhaust... It will be here in a week and I will report results for MPGs...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 01-18-2010, 04:52 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Hendersonville, NC
Posts: 574
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by garrett_720 View Post
Thanks for the info. That's great!!! Looks like Spartan it is!!!
If you at first decide to tune one truck, the tuner that's shipped will be one of the new strategy flash tuner with the tunes pre loaded. Later on if you decide to tune another truck we'll have to convert your tuner back to the old style tuner which will allow you to purchase additional licenses so you can tune multiple vehicles. At that time we'll have to make the tunes for both trucks. It's no problem at all and all we'll need is the DashDAQ serial #, vin # and strategy codes from each truck.

Mick @ Spartan
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 01-19-2010, 05:34 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 251
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks Mick. Hey can yall change gear ratio with the custom tunes? I just wanna make sure that y'all can before I buy one. It looks like we will be doing atleast two trucks for sure.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 01-19-2010, 06:07 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Hendersonville, NC
Posts: 574
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by garrett_720 View Post
Thanks Mick. Hey can yall change gear ratio with the custom tunes? I just wanna make sure that y'all can before I buy one. It looks like we will be doing atleast two trucks for sure.
Do you mean adjust for different size tires? If so, yes but it will have to be a custom tune. You have to ask for tire size adjustments when you purchase the tuner......
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors