Torque tube or not? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 Old 01-09-2010, 05:13 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Torque tube or not?

I have been running my truck with the AFE Stage 2 without the torque tube for about 16 months. The reason I didn't put the tube on at the time is because people were having trouble with it throwing codes. I haven't heard of any codes lately. My question is, will I notice a difference if I install the tube or is it not worth it? Thanks for your help.
08Tarheel350 is offline  
post #2 of 16 Old 01-10-2010, 10:20 AM
Compression Ignition Addict


 
08stroker250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 8,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 5
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Is this on a stock truck or a tuned truck?

Jeff Dodd
spartan_jeff12@yahoo.com

2012 Ford F-250 Lariat CC/SB

Mods - Spartan tuned via laptop, 4" AFE stainless exhaust system, 2.5" PMF BMC leveling spacers, 3" PMF lift blocks, Fox Racing 2.0 shocks, Recon smoked mirror & cab lights
08stroker250 is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 01-10-2010, 01:23 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
graysuperduty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i have never trown a code with mine. turbo sounds like its in the glove box
graysuperduty is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 01-10-2010, 03:12 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I would not put it on if I were you unless you need it. Mine broke, sent plastic through the turbos and I had to pay to replace the turbos. AFE says they are paying for it, I am waiting for the check
Dr.Palmar is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 01-10-2010, 03:34 PM
Premium Member
 
Infidel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Infidel
how did it break ? it seems pretty tough ?


2008 F-250 XL 4x4 Long Bed
2 Inch Rize Industries Leveling Kit
AFE Stage II Intake
4 Inch MBRP Black Exhaust DPF Back
SCT Livewire
CAT/DPF Delete
35 in Nitto Trail Grapplers
18 in XD Black Revolvers


***** Coming Soon *****
Headache Rack
IronBull Bumpers
Infidel is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 01-10-2010, 04:53 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 08stroker250 View Post
Is this on a stock truck or a tuned truck?
Sorry for the delay. It is on a Spartan tuned truck. I have the Spartan TCM and will be installing it when I get my tunes. What would you do?
08Tarheel350 is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 01-10-2010, 05:32 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
My tube broke at both ends under the clamps. They say it is supposed to be able to be driven over so I guess maybe there was some defect in the manufacturing process of the tube
Dr.Palmar is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 01-10-2010, 06:03 PM
Compression Ignition Addict


 
08stroker250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 8,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 5
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 08Tarheel350 View Post
Sorry for the delay. It is on a Spartan tuned truck. I have the Spartan TCM and will be installing it when I get my tunes. What would you do?
You will not get any codes at all on a Spartan tuned truck with the AFE with or without the torque tube. The only time you would get a code from the AFE is if your truck was stock.

Jeff Dodd
spartan_jeff12@yahoo.com

2012 Ford F-250 Lariat CC/SB

Mods - Spartan tuned via laptop, 4" AFE stainless exhaust system, 2.5" PMF BMC leveling spacers, 3" PMF lift blocks, Fox Racing 2.0 shocks, Recon smoked mirror & cab lights
08stroker250 is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 01-11-2010, 05:09 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 08stroker250 View Post
You will not get any codes at all on a Spartan tuned truck with the AFE with or without the torque tube. The only time you would get a code from the AFE is if your truck was stock.
Ok. Thanks for your help. Now, do you think I will notice any difference with spool up or power at all? I am wondering what would be my next step to increase my towing capabilities. I/C pipe? Full down pipe?
08Tarheel350 is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 01-11-2010, 06:18 PM
Compression Ignition Addict


 
08stroker250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 8,819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 5
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I am currently not running the AFE torque tube on my truck. I don't see any noticeable difference to be honest. Anything to improve air flow is good for towing.....so both of the parts you mentioned would be great upgrades.

Jeff Dodd
spartan_jeff12@yahoo.com

2012 Ford F-250 Lariat CC/SB

Mods - Spartan tuned via laptop, 4" AFE stainless exhaust system, 2.5" PMF BMC leveling spacers, 3" PMF lift blocks, Fox Racing 2.0 shocks, Recon smoked mirror & cab lights
08stroker250 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome