SCT creating TCM problem - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 26 Old 09-27-2009, 12:50 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
SCT creating TCM problem

All,
I am a new member to the forum but have been visiting for some time. I have a job 1 2008 superduty with a 6.4 powerstroke. I purchased an SCT livewire less than one month after purchasing the truck to get rid of the dpf. Due to needing to purchase new tire soon (going to go a little larger than stock) I recently updated by livewire with the latest firmware and tunes which allow tire calibration. When I tuned the truck with the extreme tune the truck would not try to start (starter didnt even engage). I then tried to go back to stock and the programmer locked up in the ECM update screen for over one hour. I eventually unhooked the programmer as it was not getting anywhere and tried to start over. Unfortunately the programmer continues to tell me to return truck to stock however will not communicate with the truck. I had a certified ford tech. with the correct software to re-flash the PCM however we cannot get the TCM to communicate because it says it is corrupt. He is telling me I will need to purchase a new TCM at approximately $1000. Just wondering if anyone has heard of anything like this of if you have any suggestions.
Gabe McCutcheon is offline  
post #2 of 26 Old 09-27-2009, 01:44 PM
Powerstroke Techie

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Tomball, under your diesel truck
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The only other thing he (ford tech) could try would be to disconnect/reconnect the tcm then attempt to perform a "programmable module installation" using as built data for the tcm.

Power Stroke Magic, Inc.
FordDieselTech is offline  
post #3 of 26 Old 09-27-2009, 01:46 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
CobbsDieselPerformance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Loudon, TN
Posts: 2,039
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Job 1 TCMs are very flaky there have been several tcm failures on Job 1 trucks. The tcms are no where near 1000 dollars they retail around 350 or so I believe so sounds like the tech is blowing smoke.
CobbsDieselPerformance is offline  
post #4 of 26 Old 09-27-2009, 01:49 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The tech did try to use the as built data for the tcm, however we did not disconnect the tcm before doing so. Would this make a difference?
Gabe McCutcheon is offline  
post #5 of 26 Old 09-27-2009, 01:51 PM
Powerstroke Techie

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Tomball, under your diesel truck
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
probably not if he already tried as built

Power Stroke Magic, Inc.
FordDieselTech is offline  
post #6 of 26 Old 09-27-2009, 03:11 PM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have never seen an SCT do this, but it is possible. Corrupt / incomplete transmission calibrations can crash the TCM. The are not $1000 bucks though. I believe Cobbs is right, they are around $350-$400. It should even come pre-programmed for your truck if you order using your VIN number.
H&S Tech is offline  
post #7 of 26 Old 09-27-2009, 05:26 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: EDMOND, OK
Posts: 2,735
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by CobbsDieselPerformance View Post
Job 1 TCMs are very flaky there have been several tcm failures on Job 1 trucks. The tcms are no where near 1000 dollars they retail around 350 or so I believe so sounds like the tech is blowing smoke.
Sorry to hijack but what is the diff in a new tcm from ford and a new tcm from spartan. I thought the one from spartan was just a blank one. Is a new ford one a blank one?
FX4STROKER is offline  
post #8 of 26 Old 09-27-2009, 05:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by FX4STROKER View Post
Sorry to hijack but what is the diff in a new tcm from ford and a new tcm from spartan. I thought the one from spartan was just a blank one. Is a new ford one a blank one?
Spartans TCM is re-worked to improve shifting, and is designed to ONLY work with their tuner programing.
You cannot use a Spartan TCM with any other tuner, sorry.
keving is offline  
post #9 of 26 Old 09-27-2009, 06:23 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Dusten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Lake Goodwin, Wa
Posts: 1,783
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Thanks: 13
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Garage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by FX4STROKER View Post
Sorry to hijack but what is the diff in a new tcm from ford and a new tcm from spartan. I thought the one from spartan was just a blank one. Is a new ford one a blank one?
no, ford is not going to sell you a blank one. That is the difference, matt sells you a blank one, and the tunes to control it.

2008 Ford F-250 - 6"-37s-H&S-deleted
2001 Ford Lightning - Built motor - Built trans - 2.3 KB - Custom Interior - Garage Queen
1993 Ford Lightning - stockish
1994 Ford Cobra - stockish
1968 Mustang - Gold Nugget Special - restored
2015 Chevy Tahoe LTZ
2015 Hyundai Sonota Sport
Dusten is offline  
post #10 of 26 Old 09-27-2009, 06:36 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bakersfield,CA
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by keving View Post
Spartans TCM is re-worked to improve shifting, and is designed to ONLY work with their tuner programing.
You cannot use a Spartan TCM with any other tuner, sorry.
Hmmm, then if you get a Spartan TCM can it be returned to stock tune to go in to the dealer? Or am I misunderstanding what you are saying?
ol38y is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome