spartan mounting and intakes - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-18-2009, 05:46 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Marysville, Wa
Posts: 1,274
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via MSN to Dusten
spartan mounting and intakes

Who's running a tuner without an intake? How does the stock intake hold up?
Second, who's got pictures of the spartan mounted in the truck? I'm ordering my setup this weekend(kept debating on sct v. spartan, but the new update sold me on it)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 09-18-2009, 06:12 PM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor



 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 8,777
Thanks: 4
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
No intake is needed for the 210 and under tunes, but the race tunes move a lot of air and an intake would be needed. I don't have a picture of where my on is mounted but it's above the steering column in front of the digital screen on the dash gauges.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 09-18-2009, 06:58 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Dallas
Posts: 2,306
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Mine is mounted on the windshield in the top left. its the only spot I can read all the gauges if i set it up to monitor more then 3 settings.

I have the afe intake but dont run anything higher then the 210. Then intake made the sound of the turbos louder, other then that it probably didnt do much.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 09-18-2009, 07:33 PM
Emergency Services

 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Beeville, TX
Posts: 1,489
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have mine attached to an Edge monitor pod. There is elaborate brackets that can be made to adapt the Dash Daq to the edge pod, but plain old 3M double stick tape works well enough.

Dusten, do a search for Edge Pod mounting for the Dash Daq. It looks very slick, and it's visible, and within reach.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 09-18-2009, 07:51 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Marysville, Wa
Posts: 1,274
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via MSN to Dusten
Quote:
Originally Posted by 08stroker250 View Post
No intake is needed for the 210 and under tunes, but the race tunes move a lot of air and an intake would be needed. I don't have a picture of where my on is mounted but it's above the steering column in front of the digital screen on the dash gauges.
thats not a bad spot, since i have the digi screen off all the time anyways
Quote:
Originally Posted by elibenson View Post
I have mine attached to an Edge monitor pod. There is elaborate brackets that can be made to adapt the Dash Daq to the edge pod, but plain old 3M double stick tape works well enough.

Dusten, do a search for Edge Pod mounting for the Dash Daq. It looks very slick, and it's visible, and within reach.
thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 09-18-2009, 08:29 PM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor



 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 8,777
Thanks: 4
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by elibenson View Post
I have mine attached to an Edge monitor pod. There is elaborate brackets that can be made to adapt the Dash Daq to the edge pod, but plain old 3M double stick tape works well enough.

Dusten, do a search for Edge Pod mounting for the Dash Daq. It looks very slick, and it's visible, and within reach.
I am not real sure on this, but I know that some of the new DashDAQ monitors are larger than the older ones like you and I have Eli. I do not think the new larger monitor will fit in the Edge pod, but I could be mistaken.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 09-18-2009, 08:30 PM
Emergency Services

 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Beeville, TX
Posts: 1,489
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It is not really *in* the pod, it is adhered to the front of it. The new DD is only slightly larger, and would still attach the way I have mine attached.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 09-18-2009, 08:31 PM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor



 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 8,777
Thanks: 4
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by elibenson View Post
It is not really *in* the pod, it is adhered to the front of it. The new DD is only slightly larger, and would still attach the way I have mine attached.
Got ya, thanks for clearing that up
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 09-18-2009, 09:19 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 188
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i have the new larger dashdaq and have the edge pod setup, just used a plastic dremel and a hot razor blade and got it to fit, and just wrapped up a lil black rubber around the plastic i dremel out came out good but they are kinda tough compared to the older smaller dd
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 09-18-2009, 09:22 PM
Warheads on Foreheads
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Houghton, LA
Posts: 1,807
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
so would you need an intake for the 250 if that was the highest tune you'd run. Could you get away with it?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors