High Gear Take off W/310 - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-17-2009, 07:45 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 120
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
High Gear Take off W/310

I installed new 310 and TCM Tuesday and am having a issue occasionally. It has happened now 3 times. Take off from red light, stop sign, whatever, and come to next stop sign or whatever. When I leave that next stop, tranny is stuck in a higher gear. It would be like manually shifting into 3rd with the automatic and trying to take off. Anyone else having this issue?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 09-17-2009, 07:52 PM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 479
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It will do this a few times during the learning period- 2 hints

Make SURE your traction control is off during learning
Do NOT let out of the throttle on a WOT run as a shift is about to occur during learning. Also be sure and follow the adaptation procedure in the box as closely as you can.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 09-17-2009, 08:00 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 120
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I think I must be missing something. Traction Control?? I have nothing in my truck that allows me to control my traction (I don't think). In my box, I got a receipt, TCM, TCM install instructions and SD card. I didn't get any adaptive procedure list or anything.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 09-17-2009, 08:02 PM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor



 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 8,777
Thanks: 4
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
There is an adaptive learning process, you didnt get the list?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 09-17-2009, 08:04 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 120
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
No man. I just dumped all the pink foam peanuts left in the box all over the floor to make sure I'm not missing something.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 09-17-2009, 08:05 PM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor



 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 8,777
Thanks: 4
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Did you get a packet with the TCM?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 09-17-2009, 08:07 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 120
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I got the TCM, TCM install instructions, SD card and a receipt. I am walking into the garage now to get the instructions to make sure.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 09-17-2009, 08:08 PM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 479
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by GC Builder View Post
No man. I just dumped all the pink foam peanuts left in the box all over the floor to make sure I'm not missing something.
If for some reason you didn't get it, just shoot sales an email and they can email you a copy.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 09-17-2009, 08:10 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 577
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Jeff you have to do the same thing I had to do with the 585. These two tunes must be very simular as I had the same problem. You need to set it back to stock then reload the tune and then do a 25% throttle take off from a stop and holding it at 25% let it run through all the gears. Then just repeat this step at 50% then 75 % then finally 100%. you cant let off of what ever throttle % you have going or it wont learn right. I had a difficult time doing this with out getting arrested on 2854.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 09-17-2009, 08:11 PM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor



 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 8,777
Thanks: 4
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Nooooo!! Dont set it back to stock!!! There is no stock file with it. Reload the tune. This is a blank TCM, DO NOT SET IT BACK TO STOCK!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors