Spartan and MAC - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-25-2009, 01:06 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Houston
Posts: 292
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Spartan and MAC

It is my understanding that spartan is not compatible with a mac pc. Is this true and if so what can I do to get rid of the dpf? Is there another tuner out there or a way to do the delete but leave the truck stock minus the regen process. I am not really looking for the HP but I hate the dpf and would hope to possibly gain a few mpg's in the process.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 06-25-2009, 01:13 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 372
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to rdkl Send a message via Yahoo to rdkl
You should be able to use bootcamp (reboot Mac to a Windows partition) or VMware Fusion (run Windows in a Virtual Machine).

I use Macs to program/configure a lot of devices with PC only software.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 06-25-2009, 01:21 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Deerfield Beach FL
Posts: 1,748
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Send a message via AIM to InMotionJosh
As far as I can tell the only thing youd really even need a computer for is to update the firmware or download tunes to the card. Maybe if you order the spartan with the new firmware installed already, whoever you order from can load the tunes on the sd card for you and then you wont even need a computer.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 06-25-2009, 01:42 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Houston
Posts: 292
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks, I know about using boot camp but I did not want to purchase a copy of windows just to run a tuner. Also, if I purchased one with the firmware and the tunes how would I go about updates and purchasing new tunes later down the road?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 06-25-2009, 01:45 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Deerfield Beach FL
Posts: 1,748
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Send a message via AIM to InMotionJosh
Might just have to get all updates sent to you on SD cards or you could borrow a friends computer for a few minutes each time?

I just got my spartan this week so im no expert but the DashDaq is an awesome piece of equipment. I have only played with it a little but it is very very ncie and has a ton of features. IT also looks alot nicer than anything else available.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 06-25-2009, 02:53 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Houston
Posts: 292
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks for rubbing it in, j/k
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 06-25-2009, 02:54 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Deerfield Beach FL
Posts: 1,748
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Send a message via AIM to InMotionJosh
Hey no problem, thats what I do....lol

No im just letting you know that its nice and if your looking at other options then stop. Find a PC...and order a spartan!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 06-25-2009, 04:41 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Hendersonville, NC
Posts: 574
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You will only need another computer to update the firmware on the DashDAQ, as their software will not operate on a MAC. You should have no problems installing your tunes on to the sd card with a MAC. Hopefully you know someone that has a pc that you can use when a new firmware update comes out. They usually come out every 3-4 months, and most have really improved the operation of the DashDAQ....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors