Spartan and MAC - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 Old 06-25-2009, 02:06 PM Thread Starter
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Houston
Posts: 294
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Spartan and MAC

It is my understanding that spartan is not compatible with a mac pc. Is this true and if so what can I do to get rid of the dpf? Is there another tuner out there or a way to do the delete but leave the truck stock minus the regen process. I am not really looking for the HP but I hate the dpf and would hope to possibly gain a few mpg's in the process.
rlpzzz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 06-25-2009, 02:13 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
rdkl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 372
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to rdkl Send a message via Yahoo to rdkl
You should be able to use bootcamp (reboot Mac to a Windows partition) or VMware Fusion (run Windows in a Virtual Machine).

I use Macs to program/configure a lot of devices with PC only software.

2008 F250 Lariat 4x4
4 in Lift 35x12.50 Toyo MTs
Edge Insight Monitor
Road Armor Stealth Front Bumper
Road Armor rear bumper
Warn M15000 Winch
Pioneer Avic Z2 w/ bluetooth, ipod, xm w/ traffic, backup camera, and 12" pioneer shallow sub in spl2k box
Snugtop shell
rdkl is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 06-25-2009, 02:21 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
InMotionJosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Deerfield Beach FL
Posts: 1,759
Thanks: 2
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Send a message via AIM to InMotionJosh
As far as I can tell the only thing youd really even need a computer for is to update the firmware or download tunes to the card. Maybe if you order the spartan with the new firmware installed already, whoever you order from can load the tunes on the sd card for you and then you wont even need a computer.

2013 CCSB Lariat Ultimate

H&S/AmpResearch/FloPro/MBRP/Recon/AFE More To Come



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
InMotionJosh is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 06-25-2009, 02:42 PM Thread Starter
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Houston
Posts: 294
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks, I know about using boot camp but I did not want to purchase a copy of windows just to run a tuner. Also, if I purchased one with the firmware and the tunes how would I go about updates and purchasing new tunes later down the road?
rlpzzz is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 06-25-2009, 02:45 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
InMotionJosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Deerfield Beach FL
Posts: 1,759
Thanks: 2
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Send a message via AIM to InMotionJosh
Might just have to get all updates sent to you on SD cards or you could borrow a friends computer for a few minutes each time?

I just got my spartan this week so im no expert but the DashDaq is an awesome piece of equipment. I have only played with it a little but it is very very ncie and has a ton of features. IT also looks alot nicer than anything else available.

2013 CCSB Lariat Ultimate

H&S/AmpResearch/FloPro/MBRP/Recon/AFE More To Come



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
InMotionJosh is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 06-25-2009, 03:53 PM Thread Starter
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Houston
Posts: 294
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks for rubbing it in, j/k
rlpzzz is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 06-25-2009, 03:54 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
InMotionJosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Deerfield Beach FL
Posts: 1,759
Thanks: 2
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Send a message via AIM to InMotionJosh
Hey no problem, thats what I do....lol

No im just letting you know that its nice and if your looking at other options then stop. Find a PC...and order a spartan!

2013 CCSB Lariat Ultimate

H&S/AmpResearch/FloPro/MBRP/Recon/AFE More To Come



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
InMotionJosh is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 06-25-2009, 05:41 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
mick1955's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Hendersonville, NC
Posts: 574
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You will only need another computer to update the firmware on the DashDAQ, as their software will not operate on a MAC. You should have no problems installing your tunes on to the sd card with a MAC. Hopefully you know someone that has a pc that you can use when a new firmware update comes out. They usually come out every 3-4 months, and most have really improved the operation of the DashDAQ....

08 F350, King Ranch, Dually, CC, LB, White/Gold, 4x4, 4.10, Auto, Spartan Phalanx Flash Console, 310 tune, AFE Stage II Air Intake PG-7 w/Torque Tube, Code Alarm, & Console Vault

08 F350 King Ranch, SRW, CC, LB, White/Gold, 4x2, 3.73, Auto, Spartan Flash Console, 310 Tune, S&B Air Intake, Code Alarm, & Console Vault

USAF Retired - Support our Troops

DD Help File

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mick1955 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome