Limp mode - transmission slippage - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-30-2013, 01:44 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Exclamation Limp mode - transmission slippage

I have an 08 6.4L with Banks 6 Gun/IQ, CAI, exhaust. Otherwise stock.

My truck went into limp mode yesterday. IQ warning came up "transmission slippage detected". The Ford trans temp gauge was at zero and the IQ showed -68. As I drove, the trans temp gauges shot up to normal and it went out of limp mode. Then they dropped and it went back into limp mode.

I set the IQ to show trans slip - it goes up to the max after shifting into 2nd.

What is going on?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 01-30-2013, 02:15 PM
Premium Member

 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 400
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
you might have a solenoid going bad in the trans or a temp sensor going bad in there
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 01-30-2013, 02:21 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The temp sensor is only $20. Would it make sense to drop the pan and replace it?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 01-30-2013, 02:24 PM
Premium Member

 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 400
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The TorqShift transmission is actually designed to have some slippage which allows gear changes to feel smooth. If your truck just started this out of the blue then I would at least have it checked out by a mechanic to prevent further damage.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 01-30-2013, 02:31 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Central Minnesota
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Guys, I'm new here and just bought my first 7.3 after the typical 6.0 nightmare that lasted a year. I'm very happy with my 7.3 so far, but today after warming up for 15 minutes (it was 16a degrees out) I took it 2 miles into town and my trans wouldn't get me past whats 15-20mph on the way home. Any ideas?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 01-30-2013, 02:33 PM
Premium Member

 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 400
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthwoodsF350 View Post
Guys, I'm new here and just bought my first 7.3 after the typical 6.0 nightmare that lasted a year. I'm very happy with my 7.3 so far, but today after warming up for 15 minutes (it was 16a degrees out) I took it 2 miles into town and my trans wouldn't get me past whats 15-20mph on the way home. Any ideas?
you are better off in the 7.3 forums. however, it sounds like your trans temps needed to rise to allow oil flow to maximize. you may need a trans service as well.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 01-30-2013, 03:12 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
My thread got jacked!

The trans slip is only happening in limp mode. And limp mode only happens when the trans temp gauges stop reading. So it might make sense that it is the sending unit?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 01-30-2013, 03:16 PM
Premium Member

 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 400
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Sounds like a bad temperature sensor but its only happening from 1st gear to 2nd. Might have something to do with your shift pressure too. Take it to a mechanic bro. I've been without a transmission for a month now because I let small problems get bigger!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 01-30-2013, 03:17 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The problem is that I removed the DPF/CAT. I can put it back but what a pain. I don't want to take it to Ford if I don't have to. I might try to change the sensor and drive easy.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 01-30-2013, 03:20 PM
Premium Member

 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 400
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yea you can change the sensor and while your at it change your trans filter and inspect the fluid you remove in the process.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors