310 tune funky OD lockup shifting - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 Old 01-10-2010, 02:17 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Erikclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: cantua creek, CA
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
310 tune funky OD lockup shifting

When I get on it at about 3/4 or more it shifts fine, doesn't lock up at 45 like it should but when it shifts into overdrive it then immediately shifts out of the first OD. There are two od's correct. Each one is about 250 rpm difference. Say it shifts to 1750rpm immediately shifts out to around 2000rpm then a couple of seconds later it shifts back into od lockup. Under less throttle is locks up at 45mph. Full throttle forget it rev to 3000 for a while and od maybe at 75 mph. It is a Job2 I believe. Build date 09/07. I was thinking maybe the Spartan TCM would help.

2008 King Ranch 6.4L CC Elite LP & HP fuel systems, II pump, tow compounds, stage 2 ported heads, stage one cam, tow compounds, ported intake and manifolds, egr delete/wastegate, 60hp injectors, full Elite trans
Erikclaw is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 01-10-2010, 07:41 AM
Emergency Services

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Beeville, TX
Posts: 1,489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You need to do a transmission re-learn. That is all messed up. It shouldn't be doing that.

And, no, this truck doesn't have 2 overdrives.

Eli Benson - EMT, Ambulance Mechanic
----------
'08 F350 Dually KR - Spartan'd
'07 F250 CC SB 4x4 XLT - SCT /w Innovative Tunes
4 '09 & '10 E350 6.0l ambulances
1 '08 Duramax 6.6 (LMM) van ambulance
elibenson is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 01-10-2010, 08:09 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Erikclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: cantua creek, CA
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
well I know a chevy i had did have like a two stage overdrive. I did a relearn twice. Are you meaning when you reinstall, and go through a series of half throttle and higher accelerations? Did that twice and the same each time.

2008 King Ranch 6.4L CC Elite LP & HP fuel systems, II pump, tow compounds, stage 2 ported heads, stage one cam, tow compounds, ported intake and manifolds, egr delete/wastegate, 60hp injectors, full Elite trans
Erikclaw is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 01-10-2010, 08:23 AM
Emergency Services

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Beeville, TX
Posts: 1,489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
There is a prescribed method that Spartan tells people to do. It is something like:

25% throttle 0-65mph - done twice
50% throttle 0-65mph - done twice
75% throttle 0-65mph - done twice
35mph to 80mph roll with foot on the floor.
100% throttle 0-70mph - done 2-3 times.

You have to reset your PCM and TCM first though. The way you do that is by re-flashing to the 310 tune. Then immediately go and do the re-learn.

If you've done all of that, then I don't know what to suggest. You might have to email tech support if that doesn't fix it.

Eli Benson - EMT, Ambulance Mechanic
----------
'08 F350 Dually KR - Spartan'd
'07 F250 CC SB 4x4 XLT - SCT /w Innovative Tunes
4 '09 & '10 E350 6.0l ambulances
1 '08 Duramax 6.6 (LMM) van ambulance
elibenson is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 01-10-2010, 10:33 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Erikclaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: cantua creek, CA
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by elibenson View Post
There is a prescribed method that Spartan tells people to do. It is something like:

25% throttle 0-65mph - done twice
50% throttle 0-65mph - done twice
75% throttle 0-65mph - done twice
35mph to 80mph roll with foot on the floor.
100% throttle 0-70mph - done 2-3 times.

You have to reset your PCM and TCM first though. The way you do that is by re-flashing to the 310 tune. Then immediately go and do the re-learn.

If you've done all of that, then I don't know what to suggest. You might have to email tech support if that doesn't fix it.
Yeah I did all that twice.

2008 King Ranch 6.4L CC Elite LP & HP fuel systems, II pump, tow compounds, stage 2 ported heads, stage one cam, tow compounds, ported intake and manifolds, egr delete/wastegate, 60hp injectors, full Elite trans
Erikclaw is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome