Guage in ashtray - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-03-2008, 09:09 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 280
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Guage in ashtray

Anybody on here have any idea how i can fab up a nice pod for a pyro gauge to put in place of the ashtray that pulls out? I only want a pyro so a single gauge would fit nicely in the ashtray. I was thinking about taking it to a car audio guy and having them look at it. Anybody else thought of this or done this?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 06-03-2008, 09:14 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: princeton, IN- pryor, OK
Posts: 1,176
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
no my ash tray is usually full of spare change lol. are yuo wanting to remove the tray and put in the gauge, or have it set up where yuo can pull it in and out??? that would be cool.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 06-03-2008, 09:16 AM
Let's Run'em


 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 17,700
Thanks: 4
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to TwinTurboStroker
Quote:
Originally Posted by WOOL-PULLER View Post
Anybody on here have any idea how i can fab up a nice pod for a pyro gauge to put in place of the ashtray that pulls out? I only want a pyro so a single gauge would fit nicely in the ashtray. I was thinking about taking it to a car audio guy and having them look at it. Anybody else thought of this or done this?
I'm thinking the ashtray maybe too small for a 2 1/16" gauge
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 06-03-2008, 09:22 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 280
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
no, just have it fixed.
i think its big enough for one gauge. the panel there slopes towards the front of the truck so you would have to angle the gauge/mount back up so you can see it well. i think its 3.5 or 4" inches across. you might have to do some mods behind the hole but its pretty clear once you slide the tray out.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 06-03-2008, 09:25 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Poulsbo
Posts: 201
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
that would be a pretty easy fiberglass job and it would look really nice
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 06-03-2008, 09:29 AM
Let's Run'em


 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 17,700
Thanks: 4
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to TwinTurboStroker
Your talking about this right? I don't think you would have to mount up to where you could see it.....I would think if you pull it out it would already be pointing up at you???
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 06-03-2008, 09:47 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Longwood, FL
Posts: 3,323
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Barchetta
Jason, I just saw the pictures of your new rig. That's one bad azz lookin' '08.

I like your idea of where you want to mount the pyro. Can Gaylon's electronics guy (the one that did his back up camera) fab something up for you? If not, I can put you in touch with the owner of Audio Excellence and he would be more than happy to help you out.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 06-03-2008, 10:26 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 280
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
TTStroker-i was thinking of removing it completely then putting the gauge in.

Thanks! That same guy did work on my truck but i dont think he can fab up stuff like that. i didnt even think to ask him.
Does Monsoor and Nassa still own AE?
i dealt with them some back in my high school/car stereo days. I may go by the one on 436 in orlando. Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 06-03-2008, 10:36 AM
Let's Run'em


 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 17,700
Thanks: 4
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to TwinTurboStroker
Quote:
Originally Posted by WOOL-PULLER View Post
TTStroker-i was thinking of removing it completely then putting the gauge in.

Thanks! That same guy did work on my truck but i dont think he can fab up stuff like that. i didnt even think to ask him.
Does Monsoor and Nassa still own AE?
i dealt with them some back in my high school/car stereo days. I may go by the one on 436 in orlando. Thanks!
.....I see my bad
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 06-03-2008, 11:04 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Longwood, FL
Posts: 3,323
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Barchetta
Quote:
Originally Posted by WOOL-PULLER View Post
TTStroker-i was thinking of removing it completely then putting the gauge in.

Thanks! That same guy did work on my truck but i dont think he can fab up stuff like that. i didnt even think to ask him.
Does Monsoor and Nassa still own AE?
i dealt with them some back in my high school/car stereo days. I may go by the one on 436 in orlando. Thanks!
Nasa is still the owner. He works primarily out of the store in Oviedo of off Mitchell Hammock road. He has changed a little bit. He's not quite as angry as he used to be, but he'll still holler at his guys if they do something right. That's why I keep going back to him for whatever I need in the mobile electronic department. I know that it always be done right and he won't be satisfied until I am satisfied. I can PM you him cell phone number if you don't already have it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors