Howto make Upfitter switches live all the time - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-19-2008, 10:01 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 372
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to rdkl Send a message via Yahoo to rdkl
Howto make Upfitter switches live all the time

Hey guys, if you need your upfitter switches to have power all the time its really easy to do. I have some lights on these switches that need to be able to be run with the truck off.

All you need to do is cut the green wire that goes into the upfitter switches and wire it to a constant +12v source.

Not sure if anyone else needs this but I thought I would pass it along

Note: I know its a green wire on the 2008s but I am not sure if it was the same for other years.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-19-2008, 10:35 AM
Banned
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Jarrettsville, MD
Posts: 0
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
That's cool to know! I assume it doesn't create any power draw as long as the switches are off. Just make sure you use a heavy enough wire to feed the 12V supply since combined those switches are capable of drawing 80 amps!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 03-19-2008, 10:39 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 372
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to rdkl Send a message via Yahoo to rdkl
There is no draw when they are off and you don't have to worry about the wire size because this is before the relays. The wire itself was 16ga I think (dont recall). I just tapped a wire from the 12v socket in the dash and fed it from there.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 03-19-2008, 10:50 AM
Banned
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Jarrettsville, MD
Posts: 0
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
That's cool so it's just a relay wire and not the main power. I'm going to investigate on my 06 and see what I come up with. Thanks for the info.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 03-19-2008, 10:54 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 372
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to rdkl Send a message via Yahoo to rdkl
Yep. This is the low current trigger side of the relays so not much to it.

I expected to have to dig much deeper for this mod. Unfortunately I did have to pull out the dash panel because the harness was too short to work on through the little gap where the switches were on my truck.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 03-20-2008, 05:20 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: in the bullpen!
Posts: 222
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
so where is this green wire at????
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 03-20-2008, 07:39 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 372
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to rdkl Send a message via Yahoo to rdkl
Its in the harness that plugs into the back of the upfitter switches in the dash.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 08-26-2008, 03:56 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 291
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I wonder where the green wire goes to, and if it would be possible to jump it at the other end...say the fuse box. That would make it an easy mod.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 08-26-2008, 04:05 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 3,151
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I am using my first 2 upfitters. (30amps per) 1st one for my fuel heater and 2nd for my hydrogen generator. Took about 5 minutes per to hook up once you drop the fuse panel.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 08-27-2008, 08:33 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 372
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to rdkl Send a message via Yahoo to rdkl
I sm sure its pretty easy. I just had my dash open while doing a bunch of other stuff (stereo, alarm, etc) so I just went for it right there
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors