aux switches - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-04-2011, 01:13 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 333
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
aux switches

Hey, 08 f250 lariet, and I'm wondering if anyone had put in more switches in the cab, and if so where and any pic? I'm going to be using up all my upfitter switches and wouldn't mind having more for other stuff, any ideas?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 09-04-2011, 01:38 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Fort Lewis/JBLM, WA
Posts: 244
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i have a hidden switch for my train horn

ill post a pic in a few
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 09-04-2011, 01:51 PM
Viking Heavy Diesel

 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 34'.6264 -98.4192
Posts: 20,704
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I have a rocker switch under the steering column for my transfer pump.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 09-04-2011, 01:58 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 333
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
alright sweet.. See I used a aux switch for my air compressor, and one for the train horn, but I might get a push button and use that for my horn, how are you guys wiring up the switches? Straight from the battery? or fuse panel?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 09-04-2011, 02:03 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Fort Lewis/JBLM, WA
Posts: 244
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
My train horn is spliced into my regular horn, switch off i get my normal horn, switch on i get train horn(normal horn too but its inaudible)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 09-04-2011, 02:13 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 333
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
does that work with the remote? So if the switch is on, and you lock your doors or something, the train horn blows? How did you wire it up, i'm interested, and what kind of horns do you have?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 09-04-2011, 03:24 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Fort Lewis/JBLM, WA
Posts: 244
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Lol yes it does honk the train horn if i leave the switch on (given myself a heart attack the first few times hahahah, but now i sneak attack people hahaha)

ill find the wiring diagram they sent me. I have a kit from Hornblasters(dot)com it was simple and very foward hardest part was mounting the 4 trumpets.




Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 09-04-2011, 03:36 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 333
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Awesome, I would love to do that... I'm guessing you have the shockers? Thats what I have.. And where did you get the switch? Thats a cool spot for it too! Looks just like a simple toggle switch with a metal toggle from a part store
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 09-04-2011, 03:40 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Fort Lewis/JBLM, WA
Posts: 244
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The switch came with the kit im either gonna trim it down, paint it or get a new one .....

yep nothing special i think they even got them at walmart .....

conductors special 4 horns 5 gal tank...i think they are shockers ....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 09-04-2011, 03:52 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 333
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yea I also have the shockers, 5 gal tank at 200 psi. I didn't buy the kit from hornblasters, just the horns. Mounting was a pain, but I found a nice spot for mine under the rear cab driver side door. and mounted the compressor and tank in the bed. seems to be easy to wire up
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors