Ford sensor placement - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-21-2009, 10:36 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ford sensor placement

I have been looking at the Edge Insight simply as a do-it-all gauge for monitoring things like EGT on my 6.4L 2008 truck. I like the fact that you don't have to install the sensors as I did with my old truck. Having said that, though, does anyone have any idea where the EGT sensor is placed? I have the same question for the tranny temp sensor. Obviously with EGT it makes a significant difference where you are taking that reading. In my old truck I drilled into the exhaust manifold so that I measured EGT at it's hottest and before the turbo. Thanks, Pete
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 04-21-2009, 03:41 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
OK, so maybe I'm a little confused on this. There seems to be some indication that the EGT sensor is not built in. When you buy the Edge Insight, you can buy an additional EGT probe for around $80. Does anyone know if the EGT sensor is already there or do you have to buy this probe and drill it yourself to get EGT readings for the 6.4??
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 04-22-2009, 09:58 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: South Alabama
Posts: 1,571
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The sensor is there. Not sure where it is.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 04-22-2009, 10:00 AM
Super Moderator

 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 13,271
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
There is already a Pyro probe on you truck for the DPF You should just be able to plug the edge up and find it in the parameters.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 04-22-2009, 10:12 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Longwood, FL
Posts: 3,323
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Barchetta
There are actualy 3 pryos in the system.

The edge insight can read them all, but there one that is very close to the turbo. That's the one you need to be reading.

There is a thread floating around here with the picture of the engine and the exact location of the sensor. Let me see if I can find it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 04-22-2009, 01:00 PM
I wanna go fast!
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 626
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
There are 4 EGT11 EGT12 EGT13 and EGRTA......The egrta is the one you want to monitor it is a "pre turbo" temp reading. The insight can monitor all of them.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 04-22-2009, 05:08 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
OK, can we please take a step back and try to make this very clear. I apologize if I'm being dense here. First, the installation guide talks about hooking up to the OBDII port - nothing more. Is it just a matter of hooking up to the port and then configuring the Insight to get EGT readings?? Secondly, if this is the case then what in the world is this optional $80 thermocouple for? According to the literature it is for EGT readings in the 6.4L diesel.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 04-22-2009, 05:09 PM
I wanna go fast!
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 626
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The insight will work on thousands of other vehicles. Such as the cummins which does not have the factory egt probes.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 04-22-2009, 05:10 PM
I wanna go fast!
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 626
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You do not need to buy it, you will just be wasting you money.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 04-22-2009, 07:37 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Judd,

Do you have the Insight in your truck?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors